5 foods…5 days

9 Jan

Anyone else suffering the consequences of overindulging during the holiday season? Personally, I find it relatively simple to stick to a balanced eating plan during my day-to-day life, but when holidays and special occasions roll around…watch out! I will stuff my face with anything in sight…and always regret it later!

Last week, when watching the Rachael Ray Show, I saw dietitian Cynthia Sass promoting her new book/diet called “Cinch!” It looks at all meals as a puzzle, and they need to be comprised of certain elements for effective weight loss. The part that most caught my interest was called the “5 Day Fast Forward.” In this initial phase, you only eat 5 foods (spinach, raspberries, eggs, yogurt and almonds/almond butter) in order to kick start weight loss. Supposedly you can lose up to 8 pounds in these 5 days (that’s the part that really caught my interest).

Now, if you’ve read my About Me page, you’ll know that I am not a fan of giving up or eliminating my favourite foods. I believe that will only make me grumpy and lead to cravings and overindulgence in the long run. But…8 pounds?!?! Plus, although I am limited to only 5 foods, it doesn’t sound insane, like the grapefruit or cabbage soup diets, and this is something that has been developed by a registered dietitian, someone who knows what she’s talking about. The fast forward also incorporates healthy, whole foods that include enough protein so I won’t be starving (at least, no more than usual 🙂 ).

I am currently on day 2…eating the same meals for 5 days is not my idea of a good time…but it’s really not that bad. I am just hoping I’ll see results. The only catch is that I’m not weighing myself…after I stopped Weight Watchers, I stopped weighing myself on a regular basis (it messes with my head too much). I’m choosing to measure results using my skinny jeans…I have a pair that always let me know where I’m at…they’re not even my favourite pair of jeans, but I know they won’t let me get away with a few extra pounds. So I tried them on yesterday morning at the beginning of my quest, and will try them on again on Wednesday night or Thursday morning…and hopefully they will be looser!

After my 5 days is up, I’m not planning on following the rest of the diet…I’ll go back to my regular way of eating (more on that in the days to come)….I just thought this would be a good way to kick-start new year’s weight loss and healthy living. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Have you ever done a cleanse or kick-start like this? What’s the most dramatic diet plan you’ve ever followed?

3 Responses to “5 foods…5 days”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Energy levels « hungryhappyhealthy - January 11, 2011

    […] a comment So, since starting the 5 day fast forward program, I’ve noticed a change in my energy levels. I like to work out a lot. Yesterday, I went to […]

  2. Day off… « hungryhappyhealthy - January 12, 2011

    […] Monday, my workout with my trainer and Hula Hooping yesterday, plus my low energy levels from the 5 food plan…I just wasn’t feeling it today. Plus, I had thought about going for a run and the […]

  3. Cinnamon Apple Almond Pound Cake « hungryhappyhealthy - January 22, 2011

    […] I started with the recipe for My Favourite Cream Cheese Pound Cake and went from there. I halved the recipe so it would make one cake instead of two. I have lots of apples in the fridge, some of which are going soft and needed to be used up, so I thought that an apple cinnamon pound cake sounded pretty tasty. I made a streusel, and added some chopped almonds that have been sitting on my counter since last week’s 5 day fast forward. […]

Leave a Reply

