Fast Forward Breakfast

10 Jan

So yesterday I told you all about the 5 day fast forward program I am doing in order to try and lose some holiday pounds. I told you what the 5 foods were, but haven’t shared yet about my specific meals.

My breakfast today (and yesterday and Saturday and tomorrow and Wednesday) was one egg scrambled with 1 cup of spinach with a side of one cup of raspberries topped with 2 tbsp chopped almonds. You may notice the photo in this post is not the exact meal, more of a representation – this is for 2 reasons. 1. The scramble doesn’t look super-delicious once completed and 2. I forgot to take a photo at breakfast!

So that is the basic meal, but I try to jazz it up as much as possible – if I am going to eat the same thing for 5 days I might as well make it as interesting as I can, right? On the plan, I am allowed unlimited garlic, herbs and spices, 6 tbsp of vinegar and 1/4 cup citrus juice (plus zest) a day….which is good because I can’t have any salt or artificial sweeteners! For the little omelet, I’ve been switching it up…day one I think was some Epicure Selections roasted red pepper dip mix added in. Yesterday I tried chopped garlic and Italian seasoning. Today I tried cumin and ancho chili powder for a little southwestern flair. And always I add freshly ground black pepper. I still was missing the salt, but discovered that balsamic vinegar makes an awesome omelet topper! I’ve been using this tasty garlic balsamic that my mom got me for Christmas and it’s fantastic! With the flavour of the balsamic, I don’t miss the salt at all.

I think you can tell from the photo that I used frozen raspberries. I figured out yesterday that if I bought all the raspberries required for the 5 days (a total of 20 cups), it would add up to $80 (at $4 a half pint)!!!! I don’t have that kind of money for berries, so I just bought 3 containers of fresh berries (for my salad at supper)…and the rest I am just thawing the berries I froze in the summer (I would have done more had I know I’d be doing this diet)! For the almonds, the suggestion is to used slivered or sliced…I bought whole then chopped them and toasted them for extra flavour. The toasting makes a huge difference! I thought that I really wouldn’t notice the 2 tbsp of chopped almonds at every meal…but I really like to toasty flavour they have…I may even start eating almonds more regularly after this is over (even though they’re healthy, because of their high calorie content I don’t eat too many nuts).

I am almost halfway through this thing….wish me luck! I feel like the fridge is teasing me every time I open it. I will update you guys on what the other meals are before I’m done.

 

Leave a Reply

