Return to Regular Food :)

13 Jan

This morning marked the first time that I ate a meal that consisted of something other than spinach, eggs, almonds (or almond butter), yogurt and raspberries….wahoo! I decided to celebrate with one of my favourite fall/winter breakfasts: don’t be mislead by the picture…despite looks, it tastes delicious! And it contains a surprise ingredient (at least for breakfast)…butternut squash! You may be skeptical, but try it out, I promise you, it’s delicious. I do love squash, so it’s no surprise that it made it into my breakfast eventually.

Here’s what I do: Peel a butternut squash and cut slices that are about 1 cm thick. Arrange on a plate (preferably one with shallow sides). Sprinkle with brown sugar twin and cinnamon or Epicure Poudre Douce or Gingerbread spices (I am in love with both). Put just a splash of tap water around the squash and microwave until soft, about 8 minutes.

Next, the apple or pear comes in (this is a great way to use up fruit that is too soft to eat on its own). In a small saucepan, heat about 1 cm of water. Add one sliced and chopped pear or apple (if you have them, adding a few fresh cranberries is also tasty!), a sprinkle of brown sugar twin and cinnamon and/or the spices I listed above. Stir and cook until softened, adding more water if necessary.

Then, the ricotta…mix 1/4 cup low fat ricotta cheese with a splash of vanilla and a hint of Splenda. To assemble this breakfast, use a knife and fork to cut/mash the cooked squash. Top with the ricotta, then the pear or apple….enjoy!

My drink this morning is my take on Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte. I love the fall flavours, but it is a bit high in calorie count for me to enjoy on a regular basis, so I needed to figure out a way to achieve the same taste at home. Here’s how. Put 1/2 cup skim milk in a mug, stir in 1 heaping spoonful of canned pure pumpkin. Fill the rest of the mug up with coffee, sweeten to taste (I use Splenda) and add spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, etc or use one of the spices listed above). Microwave until hot….YUMMY!

I love this breakfast….it’s healthy and fills me up…and contains both fruit and veggies…on the old Weight Watchers system (which is what I roughly follow)….it is only 4 points….a bargain!

Gotta run….5 day sum-up coming tonight!

3 Responses to “Return to Regular Food :)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eating out, part 2 « hungryhappyhealthy - January 29, 2011

    […] Splenda and vanilla extract, and an apple cooked with water and cinnamon. On the side, I enjoyed a pumpkin spice latte. I enjoyed the flavours of breakfast, yet it was quite healthy and a great start to my […]

  2. These muffins are Tops! « hungryhealthyhilary - February 26, 2011

    […] mocha drinks (sometimes change the flavour by adding either cinnamon or some sort of extract) or a pumpkin spice latte. This breakfast never gets old (after all, there are lots of ways to switch it up). Side note […]

  3. Time Warp « hungryhealthyhilary - March 3, 2011

    […] got a great spicy/chai flavour…perfect for oatmeal, baking, and it’s great in my pumpkin spice latte) to the oatmeal. I cooked a pear instead of an apple, and I cooked it in chai tea instead of water […]

Leave a Reply

