French toast…my way

15 Jan

I firmly believe that any healthy diet can include French toast. Splurges are part of the fun, right? But I like to take splurge-worthy foods and turn them into every day indulgences…meals that you can enjoy without having to cut back on other things. Hence, I give you my version of French toast.

Like many of my favourites, I start with a basic formula, then play with it depending on my mood and what’s in my fridge. For the French toast part, I use 2 slices of Weight Watchers light Whole Wheat bread, either egg whites or fat-free egg substitute, just a splash of skim milk, a splash of vanilla, cinnamon, and maybe a touch of Splenda. I dip the bread in this mixture and cook in a non-stick pan over medium-high heat until cooked through.

I usually top it off with some sort of fruit sauce. Although I LOVE maple syrup, it is rather calorie dense, and the calories can add up quickly. And since I love eating meals with big volume, fruit fits the bill. My sauces are usually seasonal (berries or peaches in the summer, apples or pears in the all and winter) and are usually made with just fruit, Splenda, maybe water and a pinch of spices. Today, I made a sauce out of frozen strawberries, pomegranate, some leftover homemade crabnerry sauce from Christmas and a few clementines. I made a big batch. I like to do this on the weekend, then during the week, when I want to add some fruit flavour to my breakfast yogurt, it’s ready to go. I love pomegranates, but they are a lot of work (although a whole lot less since I found the Arils Removal Tool for getting the seeds out of pomegranates…it rocks!), so that’s why I prepare this sauce on the weekend when I have more time.

Sometimes, I top off the French toast with yogurt or ricotta. Today it was light ricotta (FYI, my favourite brand is PC Blue Menu Ricotta con Crema…it is not too thick and works nice for spreading over things or mixing with other ingredients) mixed with splenda and vanilla.

On the side, I enjoyed one of my mocha drinks (I really have no name for them, just something I came up with). Again, it’s another one of my favs that I have a basic recipe for, then switch it up sometimes. The basic is: 1/2 cup skim milk, microwaved for 1 minute in a mug. Add about a tsp of unsweetened cocoa powder, stir to combine. Fill the mug to the top with coffee (can either use brewed coffee or instant and water) and add splenda to taste. Microwave again until heated through. Today I enjoyed the basic with a hint of cinnamon.

It was the perfect breakfast for a lazy, snowy, Saturday by the fire. Speaking of lazy, it was an effort to get my butt to the gym today! I slept in (8:40 is sleeping in for me, what can I say?) so I didn’t feel like rushing out the door to Military Tone at 9:15, which is what I usually go to in Saturdays. So I stayed in my pjs, made breakfast, watched tv, read blogs and stuff on the computer…and finally left around 11:30. I just did 45 minutes on the stepper. Since I was feeling lazy, I didn’t feel like doing any strength training (even though I just got a KILLER new workout from my trainer this week). I can almost always do the stepper….just grab a magazine and my ipod and I’m good to go. I do 3 15-minute programs so the intervals are nice and short. Even though I sometimes feel lazy, I always work up a sweat, and the magazine makes time fly by. Now that my workout is over, I can relax and enjoy the rest of Saturday…and put off the few things I should be doing!

What are your tricks for making yourself work out, even if you don’t feel like it?

10 Responses to “French toast…my way”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A few of my favourite things (winter fruits and veggies edition) « hungryhappyhealthy - January 15, 2011

    […] The window of availability for pomegranates is short, so act quickly. And yes, they are a hassle to prepare, which is why, if you eat them a lot, you should invest in the Arils Removal Tool. I read about it in the LCBO magazine and ordered one online (as well as one for a gift for my sister and brother-in-law). This tool makes removing the arils (seeds) much quicker and easier. I use the pomegranate arils as an addition to my morning yogurt mostly, sometimes to top salads, or in mixed fruit sauces. […]

  2. Grab ‘n Go « hungryhappyhealthy - January 23, 2011

    […] cookies and another one of my made-in-advance time savers. I heated up one of these cookies, mixed 1/2 cup of my tasty pomegranate etc fruit sauce with 1/2 cup plain yogurt and a bit of Splenda, and made one of my pumpkin spice latte drinks. This […]

  3. Look what I made! « hungryhealthyhilary - February 2, 2011

    […] of the extra time at home to make some delicious eats! Breakfast was French toast, made using my basic method. I topped it with a sauteed pear (cooked in water, a little chai tea, with cardamom, ginger and […]

  4. These muffins are Tops! « hungryhealthyhilary - February 26, 2011

    […] from. I sometimes add vanilla extract to the mix to switch it up. I also enjoy either one of my cafe mocha drinks (sometimes change the flavour by adding either cinnamon or some sort of extract) or a pumpkin spice […]

  5. Wet and Wonderful « hungryhealthyhilary - May 1, 2011

    […] and calorie-rich than my typical bowl of oats – but delicious nonetheless. On the side is a cafe mocha with […]

  6. Bagel lovin’ « hungryhealthyhilary - May 24, 2011

    […] some chopped muskmelon and another iced coffee (expect to see this more often in place of the old cafe mocha as the weather heats […]

  7. Oh Happy Day! « hungryhealthyhilary - June 6, 2011

    […] Thing Number Four: Saturday started with French Toast. Perfect weekend breakfast, if you ask me. It was my usual base, topped with 1/3 cup stewed rhubarb […]

  8. Favourite Things: Simply Strawberries « hungryhealthyhilary - June 22, 2011

    […] Top off French toast. Make my usual French toast, and top with sliced fresh berries (and if you’ve got the stewed […]

  9. Heaven, I’m in Heaven… « hungryhealthyhilary - July 15, 2011

    […] blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, of course (plus more berries on the side). Throw in a cafe mocha to complete the deal, and you’ve got yourself a tasty […]

  10. Happy Hump Day 10/08/2011 « hungryhealthyhilary - August 10, 2011

    […] like some blackberries tagged along here, with cherries on the side, and either an iced coffee or cafe mocha to drink, depending on my mood (speaking of iced coffee, I feel like I should own shares in Almond […]

Leave a Reply

