Make-ahead lunches

17 Jan

Given that I work as a teacher, packing a lunch is a regular part of my weekly routine. This isn’t something I necessarily enjoy, as I love cooking so much that if it were up to me, I would be at home with endless time to prepare fabulous meals for lunch every day – but I guess that’s what my summer is for. 😉 I have a few tricks that streamline lunch-packing. I NEVER make lunch in the morning – always the night before, or even on the weekend if I can help it.

I made today’s lunch on Saturday. I was having a big salad with roasted veggies and lentils as part of my lunch. I just doubled up on the veggies – then threw them into a container with salad, lentils and cheese, made my dressing (keep it on the side until the last minute) and added my other lunch components (yogurt and a fibre 1 bar) and I was good to go!

Soups are one of my favourite make-ahead lunches. I like to make big batches on the weekend and then they’re ready to go during the week. Sometimes I even make a really big batch and freeze individual servings. These are great to grab when I just don’t have time to put something healthy together. The picture in this post is the soup I made yesterday – it was sort of a curry-Morrocan-ish vegetable and lentil soup (I know, more lentils, but I opened the can yesterday and I really don’t like it when there are slimy canned beans in the fridge :P). I basically sauteed some veggies and garlic, added part of a can of chopped tomatoes, water, salt and pepper, coriander, curry, cumin and chili powder; and one cup of lentils. Then I let it simmer until everything was tender and flavours had blended. This made 2 servings, so that’s most of my lunch for 2 days this week.

So that means it’s only Monday, and I’ve already got 3 lunches mostly taken care of – I’m in good shape!

Do you have any tricks to make lunch-packing any easier?

4 Responses to “Make-ahead lunches”

  1. Catherine M.A. January 17, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    I am also a night-lunch-packer…I made that resolution at the beginning of this year and it has made my life *so* much easier! And I’m so bad at cooking for two that almost every dinner ends up being enough for four….so we have dinner and then lunch the next day (or enough for surprise company 🙂 )

  2. Cheryl Moreau January 18, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Hey Hilly,
    I am really enjoying reading about your food adventures on your blog! You are so determined to do the “5 food for 5 days” thing, wow, I couldn’t eat those things for just one day I don’t think!!
    I also have started making a gigantic batch of veggie-filled soup (recipe courtesy of my wonderful mother-in-law!) so I have that for most lunches (and sometimes before dinner to fill me up), and I even started canning the extra so I always have some, I find it is much more cost-effective and way healthier than canned soup! Keep posting great ideas, it helps me to know there is someone else trying to eat well and stay healthy! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super-quick supper « hungryhappyhealthy - January 18, 2011

    […] note – I was SO glad I made soup on Sunday. It was almost 8:30 when I finished supper, and I still had to clean up the kitchen and get the […]

  2. How a snow day helps me be healthy (and organized) « hungryhappyhealthy - January 18, 2011

    […] and I didn’t do a thing today, since it was supposed to be today’s lunch! And because I made soup on Sunday for 2 days, that’s one more day taken care of. That leaves only one lunch left to make, which […]

Leave a Reply

