How a snow day helps me be healthy (and organized)

18 Jan

Like many other teachers throughout Southern Ontario, I rejoiced this morning when I heard the wonderful news on the radio – school was cancelled! I didn’t get to sleep in, since I was already at the gym (the announcement isn’t made until about 6:30), so I already had an early start to the day. Although I wanted to relax and enjoy the day, I was determined to do some things to maximize my time….which I will tell you about, after I tell you about today’s AWESOME lunch.

Whenever I am at home for lunch, I like to take my time and make something I wouldn’t be able to eat if I was packing my lunch – and today’s noon meal definitely met that criteria. Since I had kale in my fridge and time to spare, I decided to make some kale chips. It’s been a while, but they didn’t disappoint – I used garlic salt and they were delicious. The main part of my lunch was a panini – made with 2 slices light bread sprayed with Becel spray. For the filling, I used a little bit of fig goat cheese leftover from Christmas (it was still good) and homemade fig jam that I got as a birthday gift (but didn’t open until December). The flavours of this sandwich were just amazing! Of course I love anything sweet – but I really like sweet and savoury combinations, and I just love goat cheese. Grilling the sandwich (used my grill pan and panini press) just finishes it off perfectly…I love the crispy bread! And the butter spray lets you make a crispy panini without the added fat of butter. I also enjoyed some red and yellow peppers on the side to up the veggies in this meal.

For dessert, I made one of my favourite Hungry Girl recipes that I haven’t had in a while – frozen hot chocolate! Now, you may think a frozen drink is an odd choice for a snow day, but it is actually above freezing here – it’s more of a “freezing rain day.” This was the perfect way to cap off a luxurious lunch.

Now…onto my snow day productivity. The snow day did me a favour by eliminating one school lunch I had to pack. My lunch tomorrow is good to go, and I didn’t do a thing today, since it was supposed to be today’s lunch! And because I made soup on Sunday for 2 days, that’s one more day taken care of. That leaves only one lunch left to make, which I did today (post coming later in the week). So…cross one thing off the list – lunches made for the week!

I also took the opportunity to do some baking (those of you who know me, know that I will look for any opportunity to bake). I made 3 things (3 separate posts will come)….one of which was for someone else, the other two will go into the freezer to grab for healthy breakfasts and snacks. I love baking things ahead of time and knowing that I have something healthy and homemade to grab in the freezer. Not only is it great for when I’m short on time, it’s also good for unexpected visitors!

I am also going to type a bunch of blog posts for the week…I found the feature on wordpress that lets you schedule posts (confession: I typed this morning’s post last night)….which is great for when I am busy and don’t have time to post (like when I’m teaching school). I have lots of ideas from the last couple of days that will make great posts (workouts, Costco shopping, baking, lunches), so I might as well type them while they’re fresh in my mind.

Another organizational step I took today…re-organizing our snack drawer! Actually, I guess it’s just organizing, since it wasn’t at all organized before….this is something that’s needed to be done for a while, so it feels great to get it under control.

And, on a non food-related note, I also took the chance to vacuum my car and shave my legs today (both things were overdue 🙂 ).

What do you do with found time? Do you try to be productive, or just relax and enjoy it, or a mix of the two?

5 Responses to “How a snow day helps me be healthy (and organized)”

  1. Catherine M.A. January 18, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    definitely a mix–i went out for sushi lunch with tim (relaxing) and wrote report cards (productive!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Snow day banana bread « hungryhappyhealthy - January 19, 2011

    […] I’m given to bake. This banana bread was one of the 3 projects I tackled on my recent snow day. Surprise, surprise, another Hungry Girl recipe. I love banana bread and baked goods of any kind. […]

  2. My chili crush « hungryhappyhealthy - January 20, 2011

    […] It’s been almost 3 and a half years since I started Weight Watchers. Since then, I have found many products that I love and that make healthy eating easy and delicious, one of which is Stagg Vegetable Garden Chili. I can’t say enough about this stuff…I love it! A one cup serving is only 3 WW points, and 1/2 cup is only 1 point (these are all the old points system, not the new points plus…I don’t attend meetings now so I don’t have the info for the current system). It is packed full of different beans and veggies, not to mention loads of flavour! There are so many ways you can eat this stuff – over baked potatoes (sweet or white), on nachos, as part of a layered dip, eating it straight up, or over squash, as in today’s lunch (which I made on my snow day). […]

  3. Cinnamon Apple Almond Pound Cake « hungryhappyhealthy - January 22, 2011

    […] I mentioned on my snow day, I will take any opportunity to bake. Sometimes, however, those opportunities are not exactly […]

  4. Grab ‘n Go « hungryhappyhealthy - January 23, 2011

    […] Jan This is the last of my posts about my snow day baking adventures (sorry if you’re getting tired of them ). As with the banana bread, these […]

Leave a Reply

