Super-quick supper

18 Jan

So…last night I went to Costco with my sister and a friend 🙂 (more on what I bought later).  This was a ton of fun…but it also meant that I got home MUCH later than usual (7:30) and my stomach was growling…what to do for supper? I was brainstorming on the way home, thinking of what I could have. I could always do cereal for dinner, a peanut butter sandwich, or throw a frozen entree in the microwave (all good options from time to time). But I really like to eat lots of whole foods, especially vegetables when I can.

When I got home, I came up with the meal you see at the left (I know the photo is terrible, but hey, I was hungry…I wanted to devour this plate!): the Mexican “baked” potato with braised cabbage as my vegetable on the side.

To make this, I microwaved the potato for about 7 minutes until soft. Then, I microwaved 1/2 cup of  frozen soy crumbles, then added garlic salt, taco seasoning and a few canned tomatoes. I cut up the potato, added salt and pepper, topped with a bit of salsa, the soy crumble mixture, one torn up cheese string, and chopped red pepper and onion – then microwaved it all for about a minute. For the cabbage, I sauteed chopped cabbage in a tsp of olive oil for a few minutes, then added salt, pepper, red wine vinegar, Dijon mustard, a touch of Splenda, water, and a pinch of time, then reduced the heat and simmered until tender. While dinner was cooking, I snacked on chopped red peppers and a 100 calorie Nutter Butter bar I bought at Costco (it was ok, but not as good as I would have hoped) to calm the serious hunger pangs.

All in all, this supper came together really quickly, tasted pretty good, and was a healthy meal. Not bad! Now I’m not saying that I think that microwave entrees, cereal, or a peanut butter sandwich are bad ideas for dinner – they can certainly fit into a healthy lifestyle. But I want to prove that just because you’re in a hurry doesn’t mean you can’t eat healthy, whole foods.

Side note – I was SO glad I made soup on Sunday. It was almost 8:30 when I finished supper, and I still had to clean up the kitchen and get the garbage ready to take out – having a pre-made lunch was great since it was one less thing to worry about on a busy night!

p.s. I forgot to snap a picture….but I had a delicious sundae for dessert: a generous scoop of dark chocolate frozen yogurt with a squirt of chocolate sauce, 2 crushed mini candy canes,  a couple crushed meringue cookies, and a squirt of fat-free Reddi whip – chocolate-minty goodness!

One Response to “Super-quick supper”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Health “Club” « hungryhappyhealthy - January 20, 2011

    […] to Costco and going “clubbing” (we are too funny, I know ). Anyway, as I mentioned earlier this week, I went shopping at Costco….so I thought I’d share with you some of the healthy […]

Leave a Reply

