My chili crush

20 Jan

It’s been almost 3 and a half years since I started Weight Watchers. Since then, I have found many products that I love and that make healthy eating easy and delicious, one of which is Stagg Vegetable Garden Chili. I can’t say enough about this stuff…I love it! A one cup serving is only 3 WW points, and 1/2 cup is only 1 point (these are all the old points system, not the new points plus…I don’t attend meetings now so I don’t have the info for the current system). It is packed full of different beans and veggies, not to mention loads of flavour! There are so many ways you can eat this stuff – over baked potatoes (sweet or white), on nachos, as part of a layered dip, eating it straight up, or over squash, as in today’s lunch (which I made on my snow day).

To start, I halved and seeded a delicata squash (also called sweet potato squash, I believe) and microwaved for six minutes until tender. I topped it off with 1/2 cup of the chili. On the side, you can see I have a couple of tablespoons of Kraft light Tex-mex shredded cheese. I melt this over the top…but I pack it on the side since it doesn’t need to be added until the last minute or so of heating. I also packed 2 Source yogurts for my “dessert” (they are from the tropical flavour pack). I will eat this during the second nutrition break at school (for those of you who don’t know about this system, all schools in my board now have two 40 minute nutrition breaks rather than one long lunch). Typically what I do is eat something small during the first break, then eat the bulk of my lunch at the second one. I will actually probably eat the yogurt during the first break and then have a fibre one bar or something for dessert.

Mmm…I love this chili…and this lunch….definitely one of my favourites…and pretty quick to make. And, in case you were wondering, I’m not a vegetarian. I do eat that way a lot of the time, but only because it’s healthy and I like it. I do eat meat on a fairly regular basis.

Leave a Reply

