The Health “Club”

20 Jan

So…to get the title of my post, you have to be a bit old-school like me and remember when Costco was called The Price Club. In fact, in my family, we jokingly refer to going to Costco and going “clubbing” (we are too funny, I know 😉 ). Anyway, as I mentioned earlier this week, I went shopping at Costco….so I thought I’d share with you some of the healthy purchases I made, so those of you who shop at Costco can look for some of the same items on future trips.

1. Wild Roots Triple Berry Morning Bliss I love this cereal! It tastes granola-y with waaaay fewer calories than regular granola (130 calories and 6 g fibre a cup). It’s great for breakfast on yogurt and fruit, or enjoyed with milk. I have even used it in desserts to make a low-fat “crisp” topping sprinkled over fruit.

2. Saputo Light Cheese Heads (had trouble finding a link – sorry!) This is a brand of string cheese that isn’t carried at my regular grocery store. At Costco it’s sold in packages of 30. Now, why would I drive 45 minutes (that’s the distance to the nearest store) to buy string cheese when it’s available at the grocery store? Because this brand is lower in calories than any other brand I’ve found…and on the old WW points system, this is the only brand I could find with just 1 point per serving. They’re great to grab for a quick snack for a protein boost, or pack in lunches. You can also tear them up and melt them on sandwiches (or any food really)…what’s not to love?

3. Fresh Creations Turkey and Chicken Sausage with Spinach and Feta (couldn’t find a link again). This is the sausage I used in my pasta dish last week. Great in pasta dishes, grilled, on a bun, or on its own. There are other flavours too (roasted red pepper, and some sort of Thai/mango combo), but availability varies.

4. Truroots Organic Quinoa I love Quinoa. And the more I read about it, the more I want to eat it…it’s full of fibre and protein (more than brown rice). I don’t love the taste/texture of brown rice…so quinoa is a great alternative. And buying in a bigger package saves money (quinoa can be a bit pricey at the grocery store, especially since you often have to buy organic). I cook and eat it just like I would brown rice….but it tastes so much better!

5. Mini Peppers

These have started appearing at my regular grocery store, but the $6.99 price tag for a big bag is a great deal. I like these because one is just the right size if you’re cooking for one. You can wash and chop the whole pepper without having to worry about putting the rest in a bag or wrapping it up. They’re nice and sweet and full of flavour – I love peppers eaten raw or cooked – in pasta, roasted in the oven, in stir frys….

6. Super-warm winter gloves

No, this is not a food-related item, but….they will help me be healthy! I have recently taken up cross-country skiing. I really didn’t have proper gloves – just my fancy leather ones or knitted mittens (which get soaked when I fall down, which happens often, since I am a beginner). When I saw these for only $14.99, it was a no brainer. They’re nice and long and fleece-lined! No more cold hands for me!

7. Canned Tomatoes

Canned tomatoes have to be one of my favourite pantry staples, especially in the winter when tomatoes are not in season. I use them in sauces, soups, stews, chilis…so cheap and easy. And they’re even cheaper when you buy in bulk! This time, I decided to buy San Marzano tomatoes…they’re from Italy and I’ve heard a lot of tv chefs say that they are the best kind to use, particularly in Italian cooking….I’ll let you know!

8. Vitalicious Deep Chocolate Vita Tops I saved the best for last! I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE these things! Another discovery from Hungry Girl, these are chocolate-y muffin tops with 100 calories and 8 grams of fibre. You can order online, but the price at Costco was better. Online, you can get 24 for $30. At Costco, it was$9.99, minus a $2 rebate (so that’s $7.99) for 12…I bought 2 boxes…they freeze beautifully. I will write another post about these babies, I just love them that much.

So, this isn’t everything I bought at Costco, just 8 great things I thought you might want to seek out if you happen to find yourself there soon. 🙂 Do you have any Costco favourites that you think I’m missing?

11 Responses to “The Health “Club””

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hamming it Up « hungryhappyhealthy - January 23, 2011

    […] kale. I also added some dried mushrooms (purchased at Costco, but somehow didn’t make it into my post about it). You just need to rinse them and soak them in hot water for about 15 minutes, then add them to your […]

  2. Grab ‘n Go « hungryhappyhealthy - January 23, 2011

    […] a breakfast you can put together on your way out the door. Just grab one of these, a cheese head you bought at Costco, and a piece of fruit, and you’re good to go! Another bonus to these cookies (at least for […]

  3. Squash your spaghetti craving « hungryhealthyhilary - February 7, 2011

    […] onion, 2 minced garlic cloves and some chili flakes. Then I added most of a can of the tomatoes I bought at Costco (I crushed them by hand), seasoned with salt and pepper, and let simmer for almost an hour. For […]

  4. Sweet ‘n Spicy « hungryhealthyhilary - February 24, 2011

    […] a summary of all my purchases, since I didn’t buy all that much, and lots was the same as last time) with two of my friends. Funny story…2 of us drove together (as we live and work in the same […]

  5. Adventures with Quinoa « hungryhealthyhilary - March 10, 2011

    […] Mar You’ve already read about my love for Quinoa. I heard somewhere last week (I can’t remember for sure, but I think it […]

  6. Home Sweet Home « hungryhealthyhilary - March 17, 2011

    […] Then, it was off to do some shopping – I stopped at Costco first to pick up some more of my cereal. I thought that since it was during the week, it wouldn’t be too busy and there […]

  7. Meat-free, the way to be! « hungryhealthyhilary - June 11, 2011

    […] the sauce, I used a new Costco find (I made a trip on Monday) that is sure to become a favourite ingredient: mashed San Marzano […]

  8. Favourite Things: Simply Strawberries « hungryhealthyhilary - June 22, 2011

    […] combo (and my personal favourite) is one cup of Wildroots Organic Triple Berry Morning Bliss (from Costco) topped with one and a half cups of sliced fresh strawberries, 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond […]

  9. Fresh plus Frozen « hungryhealthyhilary - June 29, 2011

    […] Next up: dinner (sorry for the bad photo – the pasta was steaming hot and I was in a rush). Fresh stuff: basil from my garden, garlic scapes, asparagus, portabella mushroom, Vidalia onion and bell pepper. Frozen stuff: spicy tomato sauce that I made last year (I would post the recipe but I got it off a friend’s facebook and I don’t think I printed it out). Also topped with grilled feta/spinach chicken and turkey sausage from Costco. […]

  10. Heaven, I’m in Heaven… « hungryhealthyhilary - July 24, 2011

    […] bowl even had some of my mulberries), topped with 1/2 cup cereal (either some of my US finds or my Costco stuff). Speaking of US finds, see the coffee bag in the background? It’s Starbucks Cinnamon […]

  11. You say tomato… « hungryhealthyhilary - August 8, 2011

    […] my pizza Friday night (if it looks like a light meal, that’s because I was heading out to go to Costco and eat samples and then head to Starbucks with a friend). I made the beans the same way as I did […]

Leave a Reply

