Grab ‘n Go

23 Jan

This is the last of my posts about my snow day baking adventures (sorry if you’re getting tired of them 😉 ). As with the banana bread, these Grab ‘n Go breakfast cookies are great to make ahead of time and freeze, then they’re available to grab for a quick and healthy breakfast or snack. And also, as you can see from the photo, they are HUGE (a quality I like in food). Surprise, surprise, these cookies are another Hungry Girl recipe (can you tell I yet how much I love her recipes?).

Like the banana bread, there is no sugar or fat in these cookies. So you may notice the texture is a bit different than what you might expect (they don’t crisp up or brown). But I promise you, the flavour is all there – pumpkin, baby food peaches, dried cranberries and raisins all baked up in a fibre-packed giant oatmeal cookie? C’mon, you know it’s gonna be good! And they freeze beautifully for a breakfast you can put together on your way out the door. Just grab one of these, a cheese head you bought at Costco, and a piece of fruit, and you’re good to go! Another bonus to these cookies (at least for me) is that the recipe only makes 4. Since my mom doesn’t really like these, it’s nice to be able to make a small batch and not have to worry about having my freezer jam-packed with these for weeks or months to come.

And here is a breakfast I made this week that included one of these cookies and another one of my made-in-advance time savers. I heated up one of these cookies, mixed 1/2 cup of my tasty pomegranate etc fruit sauce with 1/2 cup plain yogurt and a bit of Splenda, and made one of my pumpkin spice latte drinks. This was a delicious breakfast that could not have been enjoyed with doing some prep work in advance. By making a few things on the weekend, you can enjoy a lot more variety during the week.

Do you have any tricks for making breakfast (or other) foods in advance to save time during the week?

 

Leave a Reply

