Extreme Makeover: Bagel Edition

25 Jan

I hate to waste food. And, as you have learned, I love leftovers. So what to do with 7 100 calorie mini cinnamon raisin bagels that have been languishing in my freezer since August? I think that since I bought them while on vacation, the novelty of a mini 100 calorie cinnamon raisin bagel seemed too much to resist, blinding me to my better judgment which would say that this item isn’t something I’d normally eat (they are good, but pretty small for 100 calories). By the time January rolled around, freezer burn had definitely started to set in. But I couldn’t very well just throw out 7 bagels – over half the package! What better way to use them up than by making bagel chips? Baking these lifeless bagels in the oven would crisp them up nicely, and the freezer burn wouldn’t be an issue.  I thought I’d go about making bagel chips in a similar way as to make croutons. Here’s what I did:

I started by cutting the bagels into thin slices (if the shapes look a bit odd, it’s because the bagels had already been pre-sliced in half, so I couldn’t get perfectly round slices). Then I spread them in an even layer on my stone (but you could certainly use a metal baking sheet). I did two batches, mainly because I wanted to test half first to make sure they turned out.

I sprayed the cut bagel pieces with PAM and then sprinkled with cinnamon and Splenda. I tossed them around a bit, then applied a bit more PAM, cinnamon and Splenda. I baked the chips for about 50 minutes at 300, tossing the chips twice during that time to ensure they crisped evenly (since I was using a stoneware pan, I would check on these a bit earlier if you use metal).

I let the chips cool thoroughly at room temperature. The result? A sweet, spicy and crunchy snack – and no wasted bagels! I’m sure you could do this with any variety of bagel (100 calorie or not) – sweet or savoury, and switch up the seasonings. Wouldn’t ranch dressing mix be great on plain bagels? Or garlic salt (that really takes me back to the garlic bagel chips of my childhood – anyone else?) If you try any good flavour combos, please share them!

Since the bagels were 100 calories each, I divided them up into mini ziploc baggies by the number of bagels I started with (ie 4 bagels = 4 baggies) and had my own homemade 100 calorie packs.

I went beyond just eating the chips on their own – I incorporated them into the delicious parfait you see to the right….seriously yummy! I cooked a chopped apple in cinnamon, water and Splenda, and let it cool slightly. Then, in a wine glass, I layered one fat free sugar free vanilla pudding cup with the apple and one bagel’s worth of the chips. I topped it all off with fat free whipped topping and a sprinkle of cinnamon…and enjoyed a mug of tea on the side. It was a great combo of sweet, creamy, and crunchy. I also think the chips would be great at breakfast over yogurt.

Another thing I did with the chips? Mixed them into my original sweet snack mix! I mixed 1/2 cup of cereal, 1 small package freeze-dried apples, 1 package yogurt-covered pretzels (slightly broken up) and 1 bagel’s worth of the chips. I can’t wait to try this stuff!

If you any kind of freezer burned bread, don’t throw it away. You can make chips like I did, or cut it up and use for croutons (use the same basic method). It’s a great way to use up something that’s a bit past its prime and not let anything go to waste.

Have you ever turned a freezer-burned tragedy into a culinary triumph? What did you do?

One Response to “Extreme Makeover: Bagel Edition”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Mint Cookie Snowballs « hungryhealthyhilary - January 31, 2011

    […] when the weather turns bad, I love to stay in and bake. You also may have noticed that I love to use up leftovers, especially when I can re-invent them in a new creation. So when the snow changed my plans on the […]

Leave a Reply

