Halfway there

28 Jan

I have exciting news to share: I have signed up for my first half marathon! On May 1st, I am running the Forest City Road Race Half Marathon in London. I can’t wait!

If you have read my About Me page, you know that I ran a marathon last September (the picture at the right is me at the finish line). It was such an amazing experience – all the training, pushing myself to do something I never thought I could do, and soaking up the atmosphere that surrounds an event like that. However, what you may not know is that I have never ran a half marathon. I hadn’t even planned to run a marathon last year…running a half marathon has always been on my bucket list but I never got around to it. Then last spring, I was watching the Biggest Loser and saw the contestants run a marathon. I thought, “if they can do it, I can at least do a half.” So I signed up for a 10 k, and figured that was a good first step.

After I ran my 10 k in June, my friend (who is a personal trainer and went to school on an athletic scholarship) said she was training for a marathon in September and invited me to join her. I thought about it for a couple of weeks, thought about just doing the half, but then decided to go all the way and do the full marathon – and I’m so glad I did!

But, as I was running the marathon, and immediately after, I was thinking how much I would love to do a half marathon. I felt so great at the halfway mark, and half the distance is not nearly so hard on your body. In fact, my mom heard the top Canadian finisher saying that he doesn’t love running marathons because you need so much time to recover (I can attest to that) and actually considers a half marathon the perfect distance.

I briefly considered running the Around the Bay 30 k race in Hamilton at the end of March, but I decided I don’t feel like training that hard right now, especially given the super-cold winter we’re having. The timing of the London race seems right, and I love London – I lived there for 5 years – all during my undergrad and teacher’s college. I can’t wait to run through the downtown and the university (and enjoy lunch afterwards at one of my favourite restaurants, hopefully 😉 ).

I’m looking forward to having a goal, something I’m training for again. In  the coming weeks and months, I’ll post updates on my training, as well as some of my favourite running tips (you learn a lot in training to run 42.2 km!). I was really strict on sticking to a training schedule for the full marathon, but I’m planning to be more relaxed this time. Getting in my long runs will be my priority, but in between, I’ll be more flexible.

I’m so excited to share my journey with you…if any of you are training for a race (no matter what the distance), let me know so we can share tips, encouragement and inspiration!

One Response to “Halfway there”

  1. Jennie January 28, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    Yay you! I’ve never done more than 5k. But if you ever want to do Around-the-Bay, your crazy-cousin can likely be arm-twisted to join you. He’s done it twice now.

Leave a Reply

