Snowy Saturday Splurge

30 Jan

After 3 weeks of reading HHH, you may think that I eat healthily all the time. This is what I strive for, but it’s certainly not reality. I am a firm believer in the 80/20 rule (or 90/10, 70/30)…eat healthily for 80% of the time, so you can enjoy what you want to the other 20% of the time. Last night was definitely the other 20%!

My mom and I were supposed to be going to Toronto for a concert and to stay overnight, but snowy weather changed our plans. We decided to go to David’s, a local, upscale restaurant located on the shore of Lake Erie. As I said to my mom at dinner, I have been pretty “good” with my eating since Christmas, so it was nice to indulge for once. To start, we each had Caesar salad. At the server’s recommendation, we opted to split a salad, since she said the whole serving was pretty big (and she was right – what you see above is a half order!). I LOVE authentic Caesar salad, but rarely indulge because of it’s high calorie content – but this salad was worth every bite! The dressing was delicious, and the Parmesan cheese and warm bacon didn’t hurt either. We decided just to go the appetizer route, since the appetizers looked more appealing than the entrees last night. David’s has a “build your own cheese plate” option, where they have a list of cheeses to choose from and you pick four. All of the options are Canadian, and the four we chose (sorry – forget all the names) were delicious. As you can see, the cheeses were served with fruit and crostini.

My mom and I each chose another appetizer after the cheese plate. She had coconut shrimp (which she loved) and I got the Cassis seared Duck Breast served on smoked Ontario bacon polenta. I’ve only discovered duck in the last few years, but I really enjoy it. It is all dark meat (which is my favourite), so it has a nice, rich flavour. The polenta and the fruity sauce complemented it perfectly. Ordering 3 appetizers meant there was plenty of room for dessert, 🙂 since we weren’t stuffed from eating a large entree.

We decided to share dessert – but we didn’t share just one dessert – we shared two! 🙂

 

Our first choice – key lime pie – was a no-brainer. This is David’s signature dessert and it never disappoints. It has a classic graham cracker crust, a rich and creamy, yet tangy filling, and a fluffy meringue topping. For our second dessert, we chose the chocolate meringue cake. It had thing layers of chocolate meringue, layered with a caramel buttercream and topped off with chocolate ganache and a to-die-for caramel sauce. Both desserts were AMAZING!

This dinner is certainly not a meal I could eat on a regular basis – but most certainly worth every bite. And since we didn’t get one large entree, I left not feeling over-stuffed (which, unfortunately, left me room for chips and a few other snacks when I went over to a friend’s house later :P). And even though it was indulgent, I like to think I made some smart choices: halving the Caesar salad; choosing the cheese plate, which is a filling protein and calcium packed choice; and not consuming an entire entree.

As I’ve said before, dining out is difficult for me. I am really trying to get better at savouring every bite, and not feeling guilty afterward. After all, for someone who makes healthy choices on a day-to-day basis, one indulgent meal (plus a few snacks after) won’t ruin anything, right? I am trying to cut a few calories today (and likely will tomorrow) to compensate for my little splurge. I really did enjoy the meal, and I’m trying to conquer the insecurities that can fill me with regret (one day at a time).  Everything I ate at dinner was delicious, and worth the splurge (that is one thing I’ve learned, and try to put into practice – if something is not a “10,” don’t eat it – it’s not worth it!).

I could go on and on (blogging is cheaper than therapy, lol), but I think I’ll stop there for now. How do you deal with post-restaurant regret? Do you have any favourite dining out splurges?

22 Responses to “Snowy Saturday Splurge”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Mint Cookie Snowballs « hungryhealthyhilary - January 31, 2011

    […] love to use up leftovers, especially when I can re-invent them in a new creation. So when the snow changed my plans on the weekend, I took the opportunity to do both of those things and came up with Chocolate Mint […]

  2. Build A Better Brunch « hungryhealthyhilary - February 2, 2011

    […] wanted to enjoy the day and the food, but at the same time, I wanted to choose wisely since I had a splurge dinner out coming up. Like many other times when dining out of the house, the food at this event was completely […]

  3. WND is coming! « hungryhealthyhilary - February 4, 2011

    […] something I struggle with all the time, and can definitely relate to. I have to admit, after last Saturday’s decadent meal, I was feeling some guilt, even though I seriously enjoyed every […]

  4. Winging it « hungryhealthyhilary - February 9, 2011

    […] sight! I figured the evening would pretty much be a healthy-eating write-off…practicing the 80/20 rule for […]

  5. Keepin’ it real « hungryhealthyhilary - February 12, 2011

    […] who I am. Do I think that off-track evenings will wreck my diet? Not at all…remember the 80/20 rule? I’m not going to say I don’t feel any guilt after going off the rails, but I’m […]

  6. 20% lunch « hungryhealthyhilary - February 27, 2011

    […] lunch was definitely the 20% part of the 80/20 rule. A splurge, but it sure was […]

  7. The problem with Thursday nights « hungryhealthyhilary - March 11, 2011

    […] being so hard on myself and beating myself up after one of these events…it’s all about 80/20, right? I had a good workout on the stepper this morning (LOVE working out on that machine, […]

  8. Home Sweet Home « hungryhealthyhilary - March 17, 2011

    […] the delicious (well, some not-so-much) eats I’ve had…some which were more of a splurge (80/20 people, plus it’s March Break…so kind of like vacation), and some which were healthier […]

  9. Caution: splurges ahead! « hungryhealthyhilary - April 13, 2011

    […] Apr You’ve read on here before about my 80/20 rule. you’ve also read about how I don’t find healthy eating to be too much of a […]

  10. Fit For a King « hungryhealthyhilary - April 29, 2011

    […] and everyone is to bring a “favourite snack” and we sort of have a junk food buffet (hello 80/20!). I was just going to bake something, but then I remembered hearing talk and seeing recipes on tv […]

  11. Wet and Wonderful « hungryhealthyhilary - May 1, 2011

    […] it did not disappoint this time! I had just ran 13 miles, so I was not going to hold back – an 80/20 day for sure! This is my first plate – all cold, mostly salads, some yummy marinated veggies, […]

  12. I. ate. all. weekend. « hungryhealthyhilary - May 2, 2011

    […] and its eats. The ladies’ retreat was so much fun! As I said to my mom, it was a lot of eating (80/20 style) and gabbing, both of which I’m pretty darn good at. I got to know some of the ladies at my […]

  13. My signature « hungryhealthyhilary - May 9, 2011

    […] It was a pretty amazing spread, if I do say so myself. Of course, I ate too much (the 20% of the 80/20 rule just isn’t big enough these days it seems). I think it was a hit! I won’t give you a full […]

  14. The best thing I ever ate « hungryhealthyhilary - May 17, 2011

    […] some healthier choices, but many that are not-so-healthy. Like I said before, the 20 percent of the 80/20 rule isn’t big enough for me this week! It’s more like 20/80! But anyway, enough with the […]

  15. Fresh plus Frozen « hungryhealthyhilary - June 29, 2011

    […] expected, but thankfully the Slabs are open until 11 year-round). The ice cream was certainly an 80/20 splurge, but I ate healthfully all day, ordered the smallest size and enjoyed every bite! What was […]

  16. Summer Start-Up and Shape-Up Sum-Up « hungryhealthyhilary - June 30, 2011

    […] updates on the food shenanigans over the weekend…I’m planning to splurge a little bit on some 80/20 treats after the success of the Shape Up challenge (hopefully I won’t go TOO […]

  17. Bites from Buffalo « hungryhealthyhilary - July 4, 2011

    […] of all the delicious eats from my mini-vacation shopping trip in Buffalo last Thursday-Friday. 80/20 eats were had for sure, but I’d say overall, I made pretty good […]

  18. Sorry….salads! « hungryhealthyhilary - July 26, 2011

    […] on the long weekend….so wish me luck! This is going to be one of those weeks when the 20% of the 80/20 rule won’t be enough for all of the splurging I want to […]

  19. Tea for Two « hungryhealthyhilary - July 28, 2011

    […] options (since this week/weekend are PACKED with food-focused occasions, I didn’t want to start 80/20 –ing too early ). I ordered the “soup, salad and biscuits” with a garden salad. The soup of […]

  20. I did something stupid « hungryhealthyhilary - July 29, 2011

    […] brief description and let the food speak for itself. But let me say this – while a heavy meal and 80/20 splurge, I can summarize the meal in one word: […]

  21. Fajita Fiesta « hungryhealthyhilary - July 30, 2011

    […] to 18 people! It’s going to be epic, with lots of decadent toppings and some seriously delicious 80/20 style desserts! So I may or may not make it on to HHH to update you tomorrow, but I plan to do […]

  22. Burger Bonanza « hungryhealthyhilary - August 1, 2011

    […] from my sweaty face in this picture shows), and great friends. If I’m going to splurge on some 80/20 food, this is my favourite way to do it – tasty, homemade, comfort […]

Leave a Reply

