Chocolate Mint Cookie Snowballs

31 Jan

*Note: Although this blog has the word healthy in the name, I also love to bake (and occasionally eat) treats that are decidedly unhealthy. The treats in this post fall into that category. Read on at your own peril  – they are absolutely delicious – so if you face a chocolate mint craving, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

You may have noticed this by now, but when the weather turns bad, I love to stay in and bake. You also may have noticed that I love to use up leftovers, especially when I can re-invent them in a new creation. So when the snow changed my plans on the weekend, I took the opportunity to do both of those things and came up with Chocolate Mint Cookie Snowballs.

I had some cookies leftover from Christmas in the freezer. Normally, this isn’t a problem, as I like to have cookies in the freezer in case I need a quick dessert if we have company. But these cookies were particularly festive-looking: chocolate chip cookies made with Christmas m&m’s and chopped candy canes, do I felt it would be quite obvious that I was using Christmas leftovers if I served them, and it is almost February. I also had quite a few leftover mini candy canes (which I bought to make the cookies) and some green peppermint frosting leftover from when I made Christmas cupcakes for my class at school. Obviously I couldn’t just save these items for next Christmas, so I got to work on an idea to use them up while downplaying their festive look.

I got the idea from Bakerella’s Cake Balls, which I have made numerous times and are always a crowd-pleaser. The shot on the right is the “before” shot. I let the cookies thaw, and the icing come to room temperature. Then, I placed the cookies in my mini food processor and ground them until they were nice, fine crumbs. I put the crumbs back into the mixing bowl and added the icing, mixing with a spoon and my hands until the mixture came together. I rolled the mixture into balls, put them on a waxed paper-lined baking sheet and popped the sheet into the freezer for about 20 minutes so they could firm up.

While the balls were freezing, I chopped the candy canes (using the old reliable “put them in a ziploc bag and whack with a heavy object until desired consistency” method). I also melted my chocolate – I like to use melting wafers (those round discs you can find at bulk stores or the bulk section of some grocery stores) because they have a better consistency for coating when melted. I melted the chocolate in a small mug (in the microwave) so it would be deep enough to submerge the balls and thinned it out with a little vegetable oil to make dipping easier.

I dipped the balls in the melted, thinned chocolate and tapped off excess chocolate with a spoon. After placing each dipped ball back on the cookie sheet, I finished them off with a dusting of candy cane “snow” before the chocolate set. I was quite pleased with the final product (see top photo) and I think the recipients of these treats were pleased as well :). No festive leftovers wasted and yummy cookie balls to share – everyone wins! I still have a few left…who wants them?

4 Responses to “Chocolate Mint Cookie Snowballs”

  1. Heather February 1, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    So a great benefit of being good friends with Hilary (amoungst many other as well…) is that you get to sample her am,azing creations! Hilary knows my love for chocolate mint and on Sunday I was greeted with a cupfull of these amazing Chocolate Mint Cookie Snowballs and they were nothing short of delightful!!! Thanks Hil!

    • Judy February 2, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

      These sound delicious Hilary, and what a creative way to take premade cookies new again! I love chocolate mint, so I am sure these were to die for….Yummmmm 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beautiful Bites « hungryhealthyhilary - February 17, 2011

    […] in the jar after all my nutella baking. I followed the basic Bakerella cake ball method like for my mint chocolate chip cookie snow balls. I coated the balls in dark melting chocolate and tossed with chopped hazelnuts. The maple walnut […]

  2. Bonus Post: Luck o’ the Irish « hungryhealthyhilary - March 17, 2011

    […] made a small batch of Bailey’s bites. To make these, I did basically the same process as the chocolate mint cookie balls, using some cookies/squares I had in the freezer, but instead of icing, I used Bailey’s mint […]

Leave a Reply

