Mmmm….creamy

4 Feb

So, the other night, I made a supper that included a DELICIOUS cream sauce. This may not seem news-worthy to you, but I have long been a follower of “the golden rules of healthy eating” – avoid cream sauces at all costs! But if you make the sauce yourself, cream sauce is totally do-able without wrecking your diet. I wanted to write the post before I forgot everything I put in the sauce – since I completely made it up!

So the sauce was a wild mushroom and balsamic cream sauce – does that sound good or what?! Here’s what I did:

I started by soaking some mixed wild mushrooms in boil water. In half a tsp of olive oil in a small nonstick pan, I sauteed one sliced portabello mushroom and a clove of minced garlic. After a few minutes, I added the softened dried mushrooms and their cooking liquid. I also added 2 tbsp of half and half cream, 2 wedges of the Laughing Cow light cheese, a couple of splashes of chicken broth, a couple splashes of balsamic vinegar and a spoonful of Dijon mustard. I seasoned with salt and pepper, and let it simmer together until the Laughing Cow had melted in (I had to keep adding a bit more liquid to thin it out).This made enough for 2 servings.

What did I serve this oh-so-delicious sauce with? As you can see in the photo (sorry the quality’s not so great, I was in a bit of a rush), I used some of it to top my mashed cauliflower/celery root. The rest of it topped a “turkey broil” I bought from a vendor at a local farmer’s market. I think the broils are basically just lean ground turkey, parsley and spices, shaped into nice little medallions. I baked them in the oven for about 45 minutes at 350, then topped them with the sauce and a little bit of goat cheese (I was a little short on my dairy servings, so this got in the last 1/2 serving I needed ;)). On the side, I had some roasted brussels sprouts (olive oil, garlic salt, pepper – roast at 400 for 30 to 40 minutes).

It was a delicious dinner that included non-diet-wrecking cream sauce. One healthy cooking tip is that if part of your meal is a little more decadent (meat topped with cream sauce and cheese, hello!), cut back on other parts. If you noticed, the rest of the meal was entirely vegetables (except for the Laughing Cow pureed with the cauliflower). The meat was a bit of a splurge, so I wasn’t going to pair it with a load of pasta or a rich side dish. But it was so flavourful, I didn’t need to.

Do you have any favourite healthy “cheats” that taste like splurges?

Leave a Reply

