Seeing Red (pepper)

13 Feb

My mom is having a get together with some of her friends today, and she asked me to cater…of  course I said yes (very rarely do I turn down the opportunity to make food)! The menu is a mix of sweet and savoury finger foods (full recap to come later). One thing I struggle with if hosting get togethers where I’m in charge of food is how “healthy” I want to go. If it’s a special occasion, I like to splurge….but on the other hand, I don’t want to go overboard, and it’s good to have healthier options. Today’s menu is a mix of both (more splurges though than healthy options) but this is one of the healthier options…I made my own roasted red pepper hummus. Full of flavour (and a nice colour), and pretty easy to make. I love hummus….it’s healthy, and so versatile, easy to throw together, and great for parties or to pack in your lunch (which I plan to do with leftovers…unless there aren’t any 😉 ).

Here’s the rundown on ingredients and what I did…remember, I created this myself without a recipe, so ingredient quantities are approximate.

Roasted red pepper hummus:

2 cloves garlic

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed (but reserve a tad of the liquid)

A few leaves fresh basil

A few sprigs fresh parsley

2 jarred roasted red peppers

About 2 tbsp fat free sour cream

A couple of splashes lemon juice

Leftover pre-made hummus (this is by no means necessary…I just had it in the fridge and wanted to get rid of it)

Garlic salt and pepper to taste

About a tsp of Epicure Roasted Red Pepper Dip Mix (again, not an essential…I just had a bit left in the jar and wanted to use it up)

About a tsp of cumin

Here’s what I did:

Put the garlic cloves in a mini food processor. Pulse a few times until finely chopped. Add all remaining ingredients plus just a splash of the liquid from the beans to make things blend easier; blend until smooth. Taste, and adjust seasonings as necessary. I didn’t actually add the cumin until the very end, after I had put the hummus into another container. I felt it was missing something, and I thought cumin would add the perfect smoky background…and I was right…it completed the flavour profile perfectly. This is what the dip looks like when it’s done – nice and smooth, with a slight red colour. Let it chill for a couple hours (or overnight, as I did) to let flavours blend. The chickpeas I used had no added salt so I found I had to add more garlic salt than I typically would.

I haven’t tried it with this particular recipe, but if you can’t find/don’t have roasted red peppers, I think this hummus would still be yummy without them as a plain hummus. With the peppers, it makes just shy of 3 cups.

One Response to “Seeing Red (pepper)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beautiful Bites « hungryhealthyhilary - February 17, 2011

    […] Red pepper hummus with fresh veggies and Triscuits and Rice Chips […]

Leave a Reply

