Burnt Beet Bummer

15 Feb

Last weekend, I decided I wanted to try making beet chips. I’m not sure why….maybe it was just an innate desire to use up the beets in my fridge….I had seen/heard of them, and wanted to try them for myself. I googled “beet chip recipe” and came up with this one. I basically followed the recipe, except I did the chips on convect, on two stoneware pans.

As you can guess from the title, they got a little, um, well done. I was so sad 😦 ….I’m not sure if they cooked so much quicker than the listed cook time because the oven was on convect, or if it was because I was able to slice them super-thin (I used my Pampered Chef Ultimate Mandolin – see picture) but they were burnt after 30 or 35 minutes! I ate them anyway since I hate seeing food go to waste (not to mention the time it took to make them). They tasted burnt…the few less-well-done ones were good. I definitely want to try these again, and I will be much more careful next time!

To go with my beet chips, I enjoyed a veggie burger with a slice of melted cheese, sauteed onions and mushrooms, and mustard and ketchup. Inspired by the YUMMY secret sauce I made last week, I came up with a BBQ slaw too. The dressing was a mix of light BBQ sauce, ketchup, yellow mustard, fat free Miracle Whip, cumin, chili powder, liquid smoke, tomato paste, splenda and salt and pepper….sounds like a lot, but it was good! The veggies were diced baby carrots, celery, cabbage and green onion. Notice in the photo, I placed the few beet chips that actually retained their purple colour (instead of charring to a nice deep brownish-black) on top. 😛

My first attempt was not a success, but I’m not beet (sorry…couldn’t resist)!

4 Responses to “Burnt Beet Bummer”

  1. Cheryl February 15, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I always wanted to try beet chips (I looove beets!), sounds like something I would do, I always tend to burn anything I make like that (sweet potato fries, for example). I wish they could invent a healthy fool-proof way to make things crispy! 🙂

  2. Catherine M.A. February 15, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Beautiful “B” Bons Mots in your last two posts, sister 🙂

    And I love that you aren’t beet. Hehehe

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meat and Beet « hungryhealthyhilary - February 20, 2011

    […] the side, you’ll notice that beet chips are back…and they’re not burnt! I made sure to watch them like a hawk this time…only cooked for 24 minutes, rotating the […]

Leave a Reply

