Banana Bonanza

16 Feb

I  had these pics on my computer so I thought I would share them and continue with the b-themed posts this week. 🙂 Have you ever heard of banana soft serve? I first saw the idea on the Rachael Ray Show…then not too much later, Tina of Carrots ‘n Cake featured the idea. Basically, what it is, is a homemade, all-natural, creamy and delicious frozen yogurt/ice cream-ish dessert.

You need to have frozen bananas to start with. I like to cut bananas in half and freeze them wrapped in saran wrap (important: Peel before you freeze)! They are great eaten on their own this way for a snack…but we’re going to go to the next step – ice cream time! Roughly slice up the bananas and put them in a food processor (LOVE the mini food processor for this, just the right size for a single serving). Add a splash of milk. Process until smooth, pulsing and adding more milk as necessary until the mixture comes together smoothly. Put in a bowl and serve – that’s it, you’re done!

Now, the first photo is just the basic banana version which is delish on its own. But you can play with the basic banana soft serve idea. In the next photo, I topped it off with a tablespoon of Nutella (this was back around World Nutella Day, when I was in a Nutella mood). It was yummy (although the coldness of the ice cream made the Nutella a little firm). I’ve also made a pumpkin pie version of banana soft serve (adding in a spoonful of canned pumpkin and some spices). Peanut butter would also be a nice addition…or you can blend in cocoa powder. You can stir in any candy/chocolate/cookie you’d like (can we say homemade, delicious, healthy Marble Slab anyone?).

Hope you try this out…and if you think of any creative and delicious variations, let me know!

11 Responses to “Banana Bonanza”

  1. Jenna February 16, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I eat this ALL the time and I love it. My favourite version is with a spoonful of PB and another of cocoa powder. I can’t seem to get enough of it.

  2. Catherine M.A. February 16, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    Hilary–this sounds awesome!!! I am totally trying it…if I can sneak some bananas past tim 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mythbusters: Diet Edition « hungryhealthyhilary - February 25, 2011

    […] Skinny Cow cookie dough sundae cups and Chapman’s frozen yogurt (and don’t forget about banana soft serve ).I know Tina, of Carrots ‘n Cake, practices what she calls “cookie Friday,” one […]

  2. How to get to Sesame-less Street « hungryhealthyhilary - May 30, 2011

    […] the photo, I combined the frozen mango with the fresh pineapple. I did the usual procedure of my banana soft serve, except that since I was using half fresh fruit, no added almond milk was needed. The fresh […]

  3. You’ve been (soft) served! « hungryhealthyhilary - June 3, 2011

    […] Last but not least, go back to basics and make the original: banana soft serve  […]

  4. Why I almost burnt the quinoa… « hungryhealthyhilary - June 8, 2011

    […] a go. Donna made a mint version with chopped chocolate. For my version, I did the basic method of banana soft serve, adding a touch of mint extract and a spoonful of cocoa. I proceeded as usual and came away with a […]

  5. Slow Run, Shape up and Sundae « hungryhealthyhilary - June 9, 2011

    […] delicious. Words don’t even describe it, but I’ll try. Last weekend, I made strawberry mango banana soft serve, and loved the flavour combo. For some reason, putting the three together was just wonderful, even […]

  6. Footloose and finger-free « hungryhealthyhilary - June 10, 2011

    […] the three, in perfect soft serve harmony (see…it even makes me rhyme!). Same procedure as typical banana soft serve, I just nuked the berries for a few seconds to make them a touch easier to blend. On the side, you […]

  7. Sweet Success « hungryhealthyhilary - June 15, 2011

    […] base was the basic banana soft serve. I made a sauce by mixing 2 tablespoons of PB2 with a bit of Brown Sugar Twin, a touch of […]

  8. Favourite Things: Healthy (but not so whole) Foods « hungryhealthyhilary - July 1, 2011

    […] (ice cream sandwiches, sundae cups) I’ll admit, I eat a lot less of this stuff since discovering banana soft serve and all its spin-offs. However, if I need a quick sweet, creamy, caramel and/or chocolate fix, […]

Leave a Reply

