Cabbage Patch

18 Feb

With this post, the B theme ends. And, as for the title, I’m not talking about those wonderful dolls from the 80’s and 90’s….I am talking about Cabbage Patch Soup, from Janet and Greta Podleski’s cookbook, Crazy Plates. If you haven’t heard of the Podleskis, they are two sisters who have written 3 cookbooks of healthy (and delicious) recipe and also have their own show on Food Network Canada. Funny story: it turns out they went to high school with a woman I know (they’re from St. Thomas Ontario) and she really didn’t like them!

I made this soup a couple of weeks ago on a day off….making soup is the perfect activity for a day off when it’s cold outside, I think. My mom goes to stay with her parents often on the weekends. She wanted something hearty and healthy to take with her. But, my grandpa (along with many in his generation, I think) is Mr. Meat and Potatoes…his palate is not that vast, and so there are many things that I love that he wouldn’t touch with a 10 foot pole. I made this soup for my grandparents a few years ago and they loved it…so this is the recipe that came to mind with her request. It’s so hearty and filling, it’s a great suppertime soup.

It makes such a huge batch that I had some for supper before it got sent off…I enjoyed mine with half a roasted squash, a small coleslaw salad and a grilled cheese sandwich on light bread (confession…. I love processed cheese slices for grilled cheese…even though many people would say they’re not “real” cheese).Give this a try if you’re looking for something to fill you up and warm you up on a cold winter’s night.

Here’s the recipe:

Cabbage Patch Soup

From Crazy Plates

1 pound extra lean ground beef
1 cup chopped celery
1 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
1 clove garlic, minced
1- 28 oz can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 – 5 1/2 oz can tomato paste
5 cups low sodium, low fat beef broth
2 cups peeled, cubed potatoes
1 cup chopped carrots
1/4 cup chopped, fresh parsley
2 T. red wine vinegar
1 T. sugar
1 bay leaf
1 t. paprika
1/2 t. salt
1/2 t. pepper
3 cups thinly sliced cabbage (the recipe calls for Savoy cabbage, but they didn’t have any at my grocery store, so I substituted plain old green cabbage and it worked fine)

In a large soup pot, cook beef, celery, onions, green pepper and garlic over medium high heat until beef is browned. Add all remaining ingredients except cabbage. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium low. Cover and simmer 30 minutes. Stir in cabbage and simmer for 30 more minutes. Remove bay leaf before serving.

Leave a Reply

