Pizza Perfect

19 Feb

I love pizza. In my house, it is the quintessential Friday night food. While pizza is not as indulgent as a lot of other foods out there, many pizzas would not be considered “healthy.” While I love to occasionally indulge in some more decadent pizzas (see: last Friday), most Fridays if I’m at home, I make my own healthy creations. Yesterday’s was a real winner: bacon, caramelized onion and apple pizza…oh yeah!

So if you’re making pizza at home and are trying to cut calories, the first (and most important, I think) to tackle is the crust. That’s where the calories can add up quickly. My favourite thing to use for crust is flat-out wraps….they are a good size and only about 100 calories, and packed with fiber. I drive to the US to get them, but I just found out today that they are available online in Canada.….this makes me sooooo happy (okay, I know, I need a life :P). So for a nice crispy crust, preheat the oven to about 400 or 425, then put one of these wraps in the oven for about 5 minutes to crisp up (this prevents it from getting soggy when you add your toppings). Place the crust on a baking sheet and go to work.

Here are the ingredients for last night’s delightful creation:

1/2 onion

1/2 tsp olive oil

1 tbsp apple butter

About 1/2 tbsp each, light BBQ sauce and light ketchup

Pinch of cumin and brown sugar twin

1 tbsp real bacon bits (now I know there are some haters out there that will say this is over-processed, but for me, it’s a portion-controlled way to get the flavour of real bacon and not super-high in calories…plus I find bacon so flavourful/salty that 1 tbsp goes farther than you’d think!)

Slightly less than 1/2 a medium apple, thinly sliced

1/3 cup light shredded cheese (I used Italiano blend, but would prefer cheddar if I had it)

I caramelized the onion in the olive oil (preheat a small frying pan with the oil over medium high heat – add the onion, saute it, reduce heat and cook until browned….it doesn’t caramelize as nicely with such little fat, but it works).

To make the sauce, I mixed the apple butter, ketchup, BBQ sauce, cumin and sweetener. I smeared this over my crisped crust, then topped with the cheese. I arranged the apple slices over this, then added the cheese, bacon and onion. I baked it for about 10 minutes at 400 until everything had melted…then sliced and enjoyed…YUMMMM! Love the sweet/salty/smoky combo of flavours!

On the side, I enjoyed a salad of spinach, red onion, sunflower sprouts (new thing I bought at the market), grape tomatoes, yellow pepper, the rest of the apple and mushrooms. I made my own BBQ sweet balsamic dressing (balsamic vinegar, fat free Italian dressing, Dijon mustard, light BBQ sauce and sweetener)…delish!

And of course, I drank a Coke Zero…I just can’t enjoy pizza without pop….anyone else with me on that? Try this pizza this weekend (or wait until next Friday night)….you won’t regret it! Happy long weekend!

 

8 Responses to “Pizza Perfect”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More mushrooms « hungryhealthyhilary - March 13, 2011

    […] ‘shroom-y spread on my Friday night pizza. Here’s how it went down. I did the crust my usual way, then spread it with what else…the mushroom spread!  I caramelized some onion in 1/2 tsp […]

  2. Favourite things: cross-border food finds « hungryhealthyhilary - March 21, 2011

    […] on the things I eat on a day-to-day basis. There are my favourite, flat-out wraps, which I use for pizza crusts, quesadillas and wraps (yes, you can order them online in Canada now , but since I was there, I […]

  3. Leftover love and Asian Invasion « hungryhealthyhilary - March 25, 2011

    […] did the usual crust routine (my flatout stash is fully stocked thanks to my recent trip). For my sauce base, I mixed 2 ounces […]

  4. Chill out! « hungryhealthyhilary - June 4, 2011

    […] usual crust (pre-baked, of […]

  5. Meat-free, the way to be! « hungryhealthyhilary - June 11, 2011

    […] you’ve read HHH for any length of time, you can already guess what I did for my pizza crust. For the base of my pizza topping (and soup), I sautéed half of a sweet Vidalia onion in one […]

  6. Porky Pizza Pleasure « hungryhealthyhilary - June 25, 2011

    […] of a quick pulled pork-like texture, I microwaved the sauce/meat mixture on high for 2 minutes. Crust was the usual – by now you know the drill (toasted light wrap). I spread the sauce/meat over it, […]

  7. Sides Show « hungryhealthyhilary - July 10, 2011

    […] Speaking of awesome uses of the leftovers from Wednesday’s birthday meal, I just can’t sign off without showing you this simply AMAZING pizza I made Friday night: Slightly Spicy BBQ Chicken Pizza. By now, you know what I did for the crust. […]

  8. You say tomato… « hungryhealthyhilary - August 8, 2011

    […] Crust – by now, you’ve got the idea (click the link if you’re new here). […]

Leave a Reply

