Sweet ‘n Spicy

24 Feb

Last week, I had another Costco date (I’m not going to bother with a summary of all my purchases, since I didn’t buy all that much, and lots was the same as last time) with two of my friends. Funny story…2 of us drove together (as we live and work in the same cities) and were meeting another friend there….well, we called when she didn’t show up on time and it turns out she was at a Costco in another city! So I only ended up going with one friend. Lesson learned: when meeting friends from out-of-town, ALWAYS confirm location! Anyways, my friend Heather is a die-hard Booster Juice fan, so that’s where she wanted to go for “supper” (plus the BLTs we consumed at Costco). The nutritional info for Booster Juice isn’t online, so I couldn’t figure out in advance what I wanted to order. I opted for a “snack” size raspberry rapture. Even though smoothies are made with “healthy” ingredients, the calories in them tend to add up pretty quickly, so I figured that the smaller option was best (and after checking out the stats in their nutritional binder, it turns out my choice had about 250 calories…not bad).

So the smoothie was tasty, and Costco was fun (only 2 samples)….but I was hungry when I got home at about 7:30. I needed a supper that would be quick, healthy, lower in calories than usual (since I had already had the smoothie and my samples) and would fill me up. What met all of these needs? The following (and that’s where the post title comes from) : collard greens, sauteed in a tsp of olive oil with garlic, salt and pepper (I never go wrong with any winter greens prepared in this way for a healthy, tasty filling side dish); a peanut butter sandwich (made with 1 tbsp Better ‘n Peanut Butter on 2 slices light bread); and sweet ‘n spicy squash.

To make the squash, I cooked some peeled, diced butternut squash in my micro-cooker in water until tender. Then I mashed with with a couple tbsp salsa, a pinch of cinnamon, salt and pepper (I may have added a touch of sweetener…I can’t remember). It was a great flavour combo! I love dessert, and anything sweet always hits the spot, but I also really love sweet things in savoury meals. I like the sweet and spicy combo, also a HUGE fan of sweet and salty. I eat fruit with savoury foods too – like apple or pear in a squash soup or a quick fruit relish or compote to top meat. What do you like to pair with sweet foods? Any unusual flavour combos that you enjoy?

2 Responses to “Sweet ‘n Spicy”

  1. yachtcook February 24, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Apple and sharp cheddar (I once had caramelized apples and cheddar to top French toast…sooo good)
    Salmon salad sandwich with mango chutney
    Lamb with dates
    Ham with pineapple chutney
    Halibut with mango salsa
    Raisins or currants in coleslaw

    • hungryhealthyhilary February 24, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

      Mmm…all sounds good….apple and cheddar is definitely a winner!

Leave a Reply

