These muffins are Tops!

26 Feb

Remember the muffin tops I bought at Costco? I promised an entire post devoted to my love for Vitatops, and after over a month, it’s finally here! I can’t believe I waited so long to tell you more about these things. I love them so much that I’ve decided they merit a favourite things post of their own! I discovered VitaTops thanks to Hungry Girl a couple of years ago, and now they’re a regular part of my diet. Vitalicious makes several flavours of muffins and muffin tops (sadly, they’ve cut back on what is offered in Canada, so I can no longer get my beloved chocolate peanut butter chip) but the best by far (of what’s available in Canada) is the Deep Chocolate VitaTop (and fortunately, it’s the flavour that’s the most readily available). You can also get flavours like cran bran, apple crumble, golden corn and pumpkin spice (the newest flavour…still haven’t tried it yet). They’re all good, but chocolate’s my favourite, hands-down.

Now, where do you get these things? The good news is they’re getting easier to find all the time. My grocery store stocks 4 packs of the deep chocolate in the breakfast freezer section. Many Costco stores also have 12 packs available (a great deal) in the frozen section. Or you can order online(sign up for their emails, they send out lots of coupons for free shipping and discounts). Now that you know where to find them, what do you do with a VitaTop?

More like, what don’t you do with a VitaTop? Hungry Girl is so mad about them, she devoted an entire chapter to VitaTops in one of her cookbooks! Before I get carried away, let me mention that you can keep these things in the freezer for months…so don’t worry about ordering large quantities. I microwave mine for 30 seconds, then I’m good to to. First off, I love these babies for breakfast. I typically pair a VitaTop with 1/2 cup plain fat free yogurt mixed with fruit (whatever’s in season) and Splenda. In the winter months it’s usually a sauteed apple or pear with some cinnamon, but there’s a lot more to choose from. I sometimes add vanilla extract to the mix to switch it up. I also enjoy either one of my cafe mocha drinks (sometimes change the flavour by adding either cinnamon or some sort of extract) or a pumpkin spice latte. This breakfast never gets old (after all, there are lots of ways to switch it up). Side note – I don’t know if you can read it in the photo, but I love what this mug says: “I’d give up chocolate – but I’m no quitter.” 😀

But these muffins go waaaay beyond breakfast. They make a great quick snack on their own or spread with a little pb. Or cut one in half, stuff with a little frozen yogurt for your own (HUGE) guilt-free ice cream sandwich. Or crumble it in some sugar-free pudding. Top it with ice cream and sauce for a brownie sundae. Hungry Girl’s recipe for a frozen pumpkin whoopie pie is one of my personal favs.

The sky’s the limit with these things…are you getting the idea? I’m sure I’m forgetting some ways to use these versatile Vitas, as I’ve done so much with them in the past. Have you ever tried VitaTops? Do you have any creative ideas for using them? Please share!

2 Responses to “These muffins are Tops!”

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz February 27, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I’ve heard a lot about these… I’ll have to check and see if my grocery store carries them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Home Sweet Home « hungryhealthyhilary - March 17, 2011

    […] had the rest of my “lunch” at Starbucks – a skinny vanilla latte, an apple and a chocolate vitatop. Then, it was off to do some shopping – I stopped at Costco first to pick up some more of my […]

Leave a Reply

