The problem with Thursday nights

11 Mar

I have a confession to make. I wasn’t sure if I’d post about this, but in the effort to be totally honest, and share my food and eating triumphs and failures with you, I decided to go with it. I am trying to show with this post that while I love to stay in shape and eat healthfully, I am a real person, one that messes up, like all of us do.

So here goes: that butter tart wasn’t all I ate last night. Oh no, there was so much more…my dessert after dinner were two Peeps s’mores (possible post to come about those later)…not bad at all in and of itself. But it didn’t stop there. I also ate some jelly bellies, frozen yogurt, mini eggs, peanut butter out of the jar, a couple of cookies from the freezer, chocolate…I *think* that’s all. Wow, that’s kind of embarassing after I type it all out. Why you may ask? Well the answer goes back to the title of this post.

When I did Weight Watchers, Thursdays were my weigh-in day. Going right along with that, Thursday nights became sort of my “cheat” night – I’ve just been weighed in, and the new week starts tomorrow, therefore nothing counts tonight – makes sense, doesn’t it? Well I haven’t gone to WW in over 2 years, and I still have the Thursday night munchies, as I like to call them (old habits die hard, I guess). Lately I’ve been doing better…I’ve been indulging a little on Thursdays, but not going overboard.

Last night was bad! Why especially bad? I never know for sure…but here are a few theories: It’s almost March Break, so I’m going into “splurge” mode (also not a good thing). It was kind of a stressful night (my mom lost her iphone…don’t worry, we found it). I was going to go to Starbucks for a free petite treat after school but I didn’t…so maybe that sweet craving was lingering? Along the same lines, my mom and I were going to maybe go to Dairy Queen earlier in the week, but didn’t…so another possible lingering craving?

Anyways…I don’t know for sure why it happened, but I do know that once this mentally sets in, it’s hard to stop. Basically I need to go upstaires to bed or I might just keep eating :P. It’s embarassing and humbling to share, but I think it’s important to be honest with you guys, just so you can see that I’m a regular human and not some healthy super hero.

Anyone have any tips or advice for me? I’d love to hear them! That being said, I am getting better at not being so hard on myself and beating myself up after one of these events…it’s all about 80/20, right? I had a good workout on the stepper this morning (LOVE working out on that machine, seriously) and a delicious healthy breakfast (post to come).

How do you get back on track after a binge/splruge, and more importantly, and advice for preventing them? Happy Friday everyone and happy March Break for all you teachers out there! 😀

2 Responses to “The problem with Thursday nights”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 28, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    I must have missed this post! I was just looking for your beer & butter tarts post and came across this one.

    Hilary you are such a gem! This post really lays yourself out there and I applaud you for that. I still have the cheat day mentality too sometimes…Sometimes I find myself having the “well I’ve already messed up…the entire day is a write-off now” mentality which is just a load of garbage…but we are human!

    Getting back on track tips? I’m not sure…I usually just enjoy myself and know that tomorrow is a new day to commit to living healthy. Having the mentality that every day gives me an opportunity to make healthy choices just gives me the spark I need.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meat-free, the way to be! « hungryhealthyhilary - June 11, 2011

    […] feel TOO horrible. The problem was that I munched on a few things when I got home (that whole Thursday night mentality). It wasn’t absolutely horrible, but more than I needed. What can I say? I’m a work […]

Leave a Reply

