Oh what a beautiful morning

20 Mar

…oh what a beautiful day. I’ve got a beautiful feeling, everything’s goin’ my way. Inspired by my fellow Canadian blogger Katie (if you haven’t read her blog, Real Food Katie’s Way, you should check it out…some great ideas and always fun read), I decided to go for a musical title for today’s post. Can you name the musical it comes from (leave in the comments section of the post if you know the answer)? That song just popped into my head during my long run on Friday…the weather was SO gorgeous! I did the run on Friday instead of Saturday this week since I was off for March Break, and it meant that I could go to my favourite class at the gym on Saturday: military tone!

This week’s long run was not that long (just under 8 miles)…it is long enough, but after completing a full marathon, 8 miles is just a nice little jaunt. πŸ™‚ And because it was so warm out, I actually ran in capri pants and without a jacket :D….it was great! I decided to post a more flattering photo than last week’s post-run shot…can’t go wrong with just the feet, right? Plus I wanted to show the ankles and lack of snow, to demonstrate the warmth outside.

This run went well…8 miles goes by quickly with a good audiobook (heard about Iraq and Sadaam Hussein today) and great weather. I did the run 10/walk 1 method, but it was more like run 11 or 12, since I was covering a shorter distance, I didn’t feel the need to walk as much.

I got home, stretched, then headed straight to the bathtub for the usual Epsom salt soak. I started to make my lunch, then went out for some groceries and a special treat: a massage! I just got a new health plan, which includes $20 per visit in massage benefits….as tight as my hamstrings get after running, you bet I was going to take advantage of it! I planned this massage on the day of a long run on purpose…and it felt great. πŸ™‚ I’m going back again in April…such a treat!

My stomach was rumbling when I got home – it was 2 o’clock and I hadn’t eaten lunch yet! I had made a yummy veggie stew before I left, so I could quickly reheat when I got home. I just sauteed one clove garlic, minced; and chopped onion, eggplant, cabbage, cauliflower and orange bell pepper in 1 tsp olive oil along with some red chili pepper flakes until tender. Then I added about 1/2 can of tomatoes and their juice, seasoned with salt and pepper, and added a generous splash of balsamic vinegar and some capers. I also added a bay leaf and then let it simmer together. The vinegar really adds a nice depth of flavour and the capers add that great saltiness….it was yummy! I also enjoyed a grilled cheese sandwich on light bread (I used a Velveeta slice….processed cheese slices…one of my guilty pleasures).

Dessert was one of my favourite “concoctions”…based on a Hungry Girl recipe for “Tiramisu pudding.” If you love the flavours in tiramisu (or even if you’ve never tried it before)…give this a try…you won’t regret it. All I do is mix 1/4 cup light ricotta cheese and one sugar-free fat-free vanilla pudding cup, a splash of vanilla and a dash of Splenda. I top it off with sprinkles of unsweetened cocoa powder (don’t skip this step…it really adds something extra)! I enjoyed my pudding with a cup of apricot tea (I am currently on a mission to use up my enormous tea stash and will not allow myself to buy anymore….so it means I’m trying those flavours which have been lost at the back of the cupboard for a while). Mmm….this was good. The ricotta adds flavour and texture that you just cannot get with pudding alone…it’s an extra richness….I just can’t totally describe it, you gotta try it! Doesn’t my lovely little centrepiece make a great backdrop for my food photos? πŸ™‚

What have you been doing with all this wonderful weather we’ve been having?

3 Responses to “Oh what a beautiful morning”

  1. Toni March 20, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    The weather has been gorgeous in Montreal. Tons of bright sunshine! It’s fabulous! But… they’re calling for 15 cm of snow tonight. That heavy slushy white stuff!! ugh!

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 20, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    Oklahoma O.K.
    L – A – H – O – M – A
    OKLAHOMA!
    Yeeow!
    OK I am such a nerd πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the shout out honey! Your kind words pull at the heart strings πŸ™‚

    As for your Tiramisu dessert, you should check out Epicure’s Tiramisu Dip Mix.

    http://www.epicureselections.com/en/products/food/fruit-dip-mixes/1085/tiramisu-dessert-dip-mix/

    As for your question…What good weather? πŸ˜‰

    • hungryhealthyhilary March 21, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

      You’re welcome. πŸ™‚ I’m not surprised you got the reference…and thanks for the Epicure tip…I think I have all of the fruit dips except the tiramisu.

Leave a Reply

