A bran new day

22 Mar

I don’t know if you remember (it’s okay if you don’t 🙂 ) but in my Thursday night confessional a week and a half ago, I said I had a healthy breakfast the next day to get myself back on track that I would share with you…I haven’t forgotten, there’s just been a lot of other stuff going on since then (Trop Swap, dinners out, cross-border shopping)! I have saved this post for you…that’s the beauty of the digital photography age…snap a picture when the inspiration hits, save it on your computer, and it’s there when you need it.

Inspired by this post I read last month (you should read the whole thing ,there are some great ideas there), I decided to give Oat Bran a try. I picked some up at the grocery store, and the first day I tried it was the snowy Friday morning before March Break. I used the same basic method/measurements/proportions as for my apple cinnamon oats (1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/3 cup oat bran instead of oatmeal, vanilla, Brown sugar twin, cinnamon) and cooked the apple on the side in the usual way. I found that the oat bran cooked much quicker, which is a huge plus for rushed weekday mornings. Another note, it says on the box that it will thicken as it cools, which I found to be true, so you can pull the pot a bit before you think it’s hit the consistency you want.

Loved this breakfast! It was super-satisfying, and, as I mentioned, quicker than oatmeal. It was also a different texture…sort of reminded me of cream of wheat, which I ate a lot growing up. The only problem is that it was so hot, it was difficult to eat quickly (and I was in sort of a rush that morning)…not a huge deal though.

I tried oat bran again in another way during March Break…with blueberries (isn’t that a cool photo with the sunlight streaming in and framing my beautiful breakfast?)! I used the same measurements as above, omitting the apple and throwing in 1 cup of frozen blueberries during the cook time. It may look a little scary, but this version was quite tasty as well. I have lots of frozen berries in my freezer, as I like to freeze them when they’re at their peak (and much lower in price) during the summer. So much better than those berries imported from halfway around the world that you buy in the grocery store at this time of year. The texture of the berries wasn’t amazing, but they were a little freezer-burned….a hazard of thawing frozen fruit. Still a good breakfast though!

Have you ever tried oat bran? Do you have any swaps for your usual foods that you use to switch things up a bit?

3 Responses to “A bran new day”

  1. Deborah March 22, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    I need to do better at eating a healthy breakfast. This sounds great!

  2. Toni March 23, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    I’ve tried oatbran but i’m not a huge fan. I much prefer oatmeal for breakfast!

    • hungryhealthyhilary March 23, 2011 at 9:08 am #

      Well, to each her own. 🙂 I made it for my sister today (who’s visiting from out of town) and she’s an oatmeal-hater and she liked it!

Leave a Reply

