Bits and Bites

23 Mar

This post is going to have a little of this, and a little of that…hence the name. First of all…remember my post in praise of quinoa? Well, a few days after I posted about all of my quinoa adventures (side note: don’t let quinoa sit in the fridge too long….I had to toss the last 1/2 cup or so on the weekend, it smelled kind of funky after a full week in the fridge :P), I received an email in my inbox from President’s Choice (one of the many food/cooking emails I subscribe to) all about quinoa. It has a link to 10 quinoa recipes that I thought I’d share with you. At the top of my list to try is the quinoa hotcakes, followed closely by the chocolate quinoa brownies….I’ll keep you posted as I try them.

Secondly, there is one item I didn’t mention in Monday’s post about cross-border shopping (I know I said I wasn’t going to include everything, but this one is too good to miss): tofu shirataki noodles! This is another food that Hungry Girl turned me on to (shocking, I know ;)). Now I have mentioned these before, but as much as I love them, I just can’t say enough about them. 🙂 They are a GREAT low-carb, low-calorie substitute for pasta…20 calories per serving, HELLO? Yes, they are a bit pricey…but so worth it. Now, I do still eat pasta (you’ve seen it on here before)…but sometimes you just want a huge bowl of noodles, plus something more on the side, (like chicken Parm 🙂 ), these guys fit the bill. They are available to order online in Canada, but, since I was there, why not avoid the shipping fees?

Thirdly (and most excitingly), I was nominated for a Stylish Blogger Award by Katie 😀 (thanks hun)! It was sort of funny, I was reading her post about being nominated and thought to myself, “that’s so cool, I wonder how I could get one.”…then I read on and found myself listed as one of her picks…I am so honoured! Katie and I were saying how it’s so cool how the blog world has connected the 2 of us who live many miles apart…one of the many reasons I love blogging! Anyways…back to the award….here are the rules (as posted by Katie….I’m taking her word that they’re correct):

1 – Thank and link back to the one who awarded you
2 – Share 7 things about yourself
3 – Pass the award on to some awesome blogs
4 – Contact said bloggers and let them know they are awesome

Here goes:

1. Thank you so much Katie…as I said above, I am honoured. Check out Katie’s healthy adventures (and follow the crockpot chronicles) at Real Food Katie’s Way.

2. Okay….7 things about me….here goes:

  • 1. I have played the cello since I was 5, done 2 cello exams and 3 theory exams…which was enough to get me a high school credit…I don’t play nearly enough now these days…I need to get back at it before I forget how!
  • 2. As a high school graduation present, my mom took me to Italy and Austria. I got to spend my 18th birthday in Salzburg, Austria, on the Sound of Music Tour (that one was for you Katie, don’t be too jealous ;)).
  • 3. I consider myself an adventurous and healthy eater, except for the fish/seafood department….I don’t touch the stuff if I can help it!
  • 4. My sister and I love to watch re-runs of American Gladiators….not on though right now (if anyone knows a station, let me know).
  • 5. I rarely drink (there’s hardly any alcohol I like…except Bailey’s) and I have never been drunk.
  • 6. My favourite colour is pink, and has been for my entire life (my bedroom, my camera, cell phone, computer, one of my coats and much of my clothing is pink).
  • 7. I don’t drink coffee (I’ve made it 23 years, not starting now), but I love anything that’s coffee-flavoured, and really enjoy coffee-ish beverages (Starbucks lattes and frappucinos are at the top of my list…skinny, of course ;)).

….so there you have it, any surprises?

And now for my nominees (drumroll, please):

Just live laugh eat

Lettuce choose healthy

Carrots ‘n Cake

So there you have it…a nice random post for Wednesday. Happy Hump Day everyone! Do you have any favourite healthy/cooking blogs I should be reading? Let me know…I’m always on the hunt for more!

6 Responses to “Bits and Bites”

  1. Toni March 23, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Thank you so much for the nomination! 🙂 Very kind!

    and… I can’t live without coffee!!

    • hungryhealthyhilary March 23, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      You are so welcome! I figured with coffee, if I had gotten this far in life without it, I could make it. I’ve heard if you make it through university without coffee, then you’re good. 🙂

  2. Lettuce Choose Healthy March 24, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    thanks for nominating me :-)I went to Italy after hs graduation too!

  3. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 27, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Just catching up now!

    How have I never heard of those noodles?? Do they actually taste good? If you recommend them I am thinking I need to order some!

    You are definitely deserving of this award that is for sure! You made me giggle a few times in your 7 facts…American Gladiator ? 😉

    You might be the coolest person I’ve ever “quazi” known!

    Thanks for the very sweet shout out and I’m sorry for the delayed comment!

    • hungryhealthyhilary March 28, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

      You are just too sweet! Yes…the noodles are good…you just have to drain, rinse and dry them REALLY well….I am also glad to ‘quazi’ know you…maybe we’ll meet in person some day!

Leave a comment