Leftover love and Asian Invasion

25 Mar

Remember that chicken I made last week? Well, as much as I love a hot roast chicken, I also love it for its versatility as leftovers (note: if you don’t have the time/inclination to make a whole roast chicken yourself, a rotisserie roasted chicken from the grocery store is also quite tasty, and a great substitute for leftover roast chicken). Last Saturday, I used the chicken to make a delicious pizza for lunch (though I don’t always succeed, I am trying to eat more protein/slightly bigger meals at lunch time, so this pizza was perfect).

I did the usual crust routine (my flatout stash is fully stocked thanks to my recent trip). For my sauce base, I mixed 2 ounces of the cooked chicken, chopped up with light BBQ sauce and light ketchup, with some cumin sprinkled in (I don’t love the flavour of the BBQ sauce I currently have, hence the ketchup/cumin additions). I spread this over the crust as the sauce. I added some chopped red pepper and red onion, then topped with 1/3 cup grated light cheese. To top it all off, I gave the pizza a light sprinkling of cumin and ground chipotle pepper (I went VERY light on this….that stuff is HOT). Then I baked it up for a few minutes until everything was melted and hot. Mmmm! This was yummy…will have to do it again. The addition of the cumin and chipotle really kicked up the flavour/smokiness. This pizza reminded me of the BBQ Chicken pizza at Boston Pizza…..only better, ’cause it was obviously healthier. 🙂

See that salad on the side? That’s where the Asian Invasion part of the title comes in. After last Friday’s tasty Chinese fest, I had leftover Asian veggies that aren’t normally in my fridge (like snow peas and water chestnuts)….I made a tasty salad and added in the veggies, along with tomatoes, onion, celery, cucumber and spinach. Then for my dressing, I made “Asian balsamic vinaigrette.” I combined a tsp of sesame oil, a splash of balsamic vinegar, fat-free Italian salad dressing and some soy sauce and shook it together….mmm! Loved the flavour combo…winning (no, I am NOT a Charlie Sheen wannabe).

I liked the salad/dressing combo so much that it has made several repeat appearances. I made a tasty salad for Monday’s lunch….with 2 ounces of the leftover chicken and then lots ‘o veggies…onion, celery, water chestnuts, coleslaw mix, cucumber (forgot about the snow peas though…oops). And the dressing was the same as Saturday’s.

For Thursday’s lunch (carried over from Wednesday, since it was a snow day :)), I made a slaw with the same dressing, broccoli slaw mix, chopped red onion, the rest of the snow peas (didn’t forget this time ;)) and chopped cabbage. The Asian invasion is a welcome addition to the usual lunch/meal rotation.

Do you use any Asian ingredients in your cooking? How do you switch up your usual meals?

P.S….continuing on the leftover theme…I have one more meal I made with the leftover chicken and, you guessed it, more of the mushroom cream cheese….but that’s to come in another post!

5 Responses to “Leftover love and Asian Invasion”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 25, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Well I have yet to actually post a HOMEMADE asian stirfry…only restaurant stirfries BUT when I do incorporate asian ingredients I love to use bok choy, baby corn, bamboo shoots, water chestnuts and sesame seeds! Those ingredients are all fantastic!

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 25, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    PS I don’t necessarily use those ingredients just in stirfries either…

    Also forgot to mention bean sprouts!

    • hungryhealthyhilary March 25, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      Gotta say…baby corn kinda weirds me out…not such a fan…and I like bean sprouts but they go bad SO quickly!

      • Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 26, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

        Baby corn weirds you out?? Ever since I was a little girl I have absolutely LOVED it! I remember picking out all of the corn from the mixed veggie dishes when we’d order…

        I totally agree about the bean sprouts though…My biggest issue is I can never tell when they are fresh in the supermarket…Half the time there is no date on the container! It’s like playing vegetable Russian roulette!

  3. hungryhealthyhilary March 26, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    I need to have you along whenever my sister and I have Chinese…because we both hate baby corn and eat AROUND it…so you would be the perfect compliment…haha!

Leave a Reply

