Pear-a-dise and a Pollo Post Script

30 Mar

So….post script first. IMG_0607When I wrote yesterday’s post, I fully intended to write about the delicious lunch that I made at the same time. I forgot, but I ate it yesterday and it was so delicious that I made the exact same lunch for today, so I knew I had to tell you about it. I mixed half a cup of those bland refried beans with some salsa and seasonings (same ones I used in Monday’s dinner). I spread it on a wrap and rolled it up and put it in a container. On the side, I packed a slice of Velveeta cheese and a small container of salsa. At school, I heated the wrap in the microwave for a minute, then topped with the salsa and cheese and microwaved for a minute and a half. SOOOOO YUMMY! The Velveeta slice melted into the salsa and made a delicious creamy, cheesy sauce. My side dish was a southwestern slaw (broccoli slaw onion, and a few other veggies, topped with salsa, fat-free Italian dressing, a tsp of oil, red wine vinegar, garlic salt and the same seasonings as above/last night). I loved this lunch so much that making it again was a no-brainer. Plus, I still had that half-cup of beans in the fridge, and I wanted to use it up well in advance of the slimy/smelly/funky stage! Speaking of foul food funkiness (I’m all about the alliteration today), I threw some more of those bean sprouts into lunch take 2’s slaw….they’re close to the edge…rapidly approaching sliminess!

Now onto the pear part of the post. After eating a delicious brunch quite late in the day on Sunday (we sat down at 3) that included a muffin, ham and TONS of fruit, I didn’t have a normal supper. It’s quite typical in my family to have a big Sunday lunch and popcorn/snacks for dinner, and that’s exactly what I did. I ate some popcorn and other snacks, but I was still a little short on my dairy servings for the day. IMG_0602IMG_0599 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enter the deliciousness you see above and to the right….a tea-poached pear topped with melted brie and dark chocolate…oh yeah! It was every bit as delicious as it sounds! SmileIt is perfect if you want a dessert that is still kind of healthy and not too sweet. I started by poaching a pear, cut in half and cored (I used a Bosc) in a pot on the stove in water, to which I added some loose tea leaves (you could use any kind of tea you like, I think Chai would be really tasty), some cloves and a bit of sweetener, until it was tender (about 20 minutes). I took it out, topped with one ounce light Brie (sliced) and a small piece of VERY dark chocolate (my brother-in-law has to go to Germany for work a couple of times a year, and when he does he brings us back the most delicious dark chocolate…he just got back on the weekend so we got another “shipment” Smile). I popped everything in the microwave for just 30 seconds to get it nice and melt-y….YUM! I am craving it again now as I type….definitely will do this again!

How do you like your desserts? Super-sweet and sinful, or a bit more held back and healthy? Or some of both (like me)? Smile

3 Responses to “Pear-a-dise and a Pollo Post Script”

  1. Lettuce Choose Healthy March 30, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    I’ve been adding salsa to everything lately! I need to find those wraps!

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 31, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    OH. MY. GOODNESS.

    What a combination! Pear, Brie and Dark Chocolate…I don’t think I would ever think to put those three foods together…

    Hilary where do you come up with this stuff????

    I love dark chocolate!

    As for dessert preferences, I think there is time and a place for sinful desserts in my life…This weekend one of my desserts is going to be banana/mango soft serve. Tastes sinful but is actually just fruit!

  3. hungryhealthyhilary April 1, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Hope you post that one…I’m a big fan of banana soft serve, but never tried adding mango! As for the flavour combo…I think I’ve seen brie and chocolate from Giada de Laurentis….so I’ll give her some of the credit. 🙂 And yes…sinful desserts DO have a place (I will have to post the yummy treat I had last night at the Cold Stone Creamery. 🙂

Leave a Reply

