Amazing Apricot Scones

31 Mar

March 25 20112

I have always loved to bake. Some people were not bakers when they were younger, but came into it as they got older. Some people became bakers by necessity, starting to make their own creations when they moved out on their own. I feel like I was born with an apron on and a mixing spoon in hand. Case in point: If you were 16 and had a little extra cash to spend, what would you spend it on? Maybe some make-up, junk food, music…perhaps a magazine? Well, at age 16, I had some of that extra cash, and I did spend it on a magazine….but it wasn’t Seventeen or another teen/fashion magazine…it was Taste of Home’s Bread Bonanza….every 16 year-old’s heart’s desire, right? Winking smile

Ok, so it may not be typical, but that’s never stopped me before. That Bread Bonanza mag is now 8 years old…and I have made countless recipes out of it – muffins, breads, loaves, and scones….like these apricot ones. According to my notes in the magazine, I first made these for Mother’s Day, I think 2004. They have since become a family favourite. I’ve never had scones like this anywhere…what really sets them apart is the streusel filling…combined with nice chunks of apricot and a crunchy top….they are DELICIOUS!

So last week when my mom and sister were having a girls’ day together and wanted to pack a breakfast, I offered to make these…I knew they’d be a hit (and I was right)! They may not exactly be guilt-free, but if you have overnight guests, or need to contribute something to a breakfast, or want a yummy treat for afternoon tea, give this recipe a shot. I know you will come to love it as much as my family does.

Apricot Scones

From Taste of Home’s Bread Bonanza, 2003

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

½ cup oats (the recipe calls for quick, but I always use old-fashioned)

¼ cup sugar

2 ½ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

1/3 cup cold butter or margarine, cubed

2 eggs

¼ cup sour cream (you can substitute plain yogurt if you don’t have sour cream, I often do this)

1 tbsp milk

¾ cup finely chopped apricots

3 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp oats

1 tbsp butter or margarine, softened

additional sugar (I like to use Demerara sugar here, when sprinkled over the scones, it gives them a nice crunchy top)

In a bowl, combine the first five ingredients; cut in butter until mixture resembles fine crumbs.

In a small bowl, beat eggs; set aside 1 tbsp for glaze. In another bowl, combine sour cream, milk and remaining beaten eggs; add apricots. Stir into crumb mixture until the dough clings together.

Turn onto a lightly floured surface; knead 12-15 times (I just do this in a bowl big enough so I can work it with my hands and “knead” in the bowl, that way I don’t need to dirty my counter). Divide dough in half. Pat one portion into a 7 inch circle on a greased baking sheet.

Combine the brown sugar, oats and butter; sprinkle over dough. Roll out remaining dough into a 7 inch circle; place over filling. Brush with reserved egg; sprinkle with additional sugar. Cut into 6 or 8 wedges (depending on how large you want your scones) but do not separate.

Bake at 400 ̊ F for 15-20 minutes or until scones are golden brown. Then, slightly separate scones and bake an additional 3-5 minutes until done all the way through (I added this step, because if you skip it, you can sometimes get golden scones that are somewhat gooey in the center). When you cut the scones, you can get lots of crumbs/chunks and a gooey yet delicious mess on the knife…use your head (and your mouth)…I’m sure you can figure out what to do with the excess! Cool slightly, cut again if necessary.

5 Responses to “Amazing Apricot Scones”

  1. Angela March 31, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    I loved reading this because 1) I, too, was a teenager who spent my money on cookbooks and 2) I also write notes in my cookbooks so that I will remember when, where, and with what response I made a dish. So fun to find a kindred soul!

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way March 31, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    These look fantastic!
    Bookmarked 🙂

    There….now I am all caught up! I haven’t had my dose of Hilary in 2 days! Geez… 🙂

Leave a Reply

