Hungry for More

2 Apr

IMG_0615

Hungry Girl has a new cookbook: 300 under 300! That’s right…it has 300 recipes! It came out on March 29, so I ordered it immediately online, and it was here the next day. Thursday night, I tried my first recipe: the BLTA Club on page 53. The sandwich in this picture may look average, but the picture doesn’t do it justice…it is WAY beyond average….because BLTA stands for Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato and Avocado….AWESOME!

On the side of this splendid sandwich, I enjoyed an HG classic…an oldie but a goodie, butternut squash fries. I seasoned mine with sort of a quirky (but delicious) combo of flavours: garlic salt, cumin and Epicure’s salsa seasoning….enjoyed with one of my “secret sauce” originals – a mix of light ketchup, light BBQ sauce, salsa, yellow mustard, cumin, liquid smoke and sweetener. The veggies you see are cauliflower and green/yellow beans, roasted with olive oil and the same seasonings as the fries.

Don’t worry, I won’t leave you hanging on the sandwich, here is the recipe! IMG_0616See this picture? It is a photo of the recipe page with my comment…AWESOME! I always write the date I make a recipe and a review….does anyone else do this?

BLTA Club

From Hungry Girl: 300 under 300

2 slices light bread

3 slices turkey bacon

1/4 avocado

1 tbsp fat-free mayonnaise (or in my case, Miracle Whip)

1 slice tomato

1 piece lettuce

1 slice onion

Salt and pepper, to taste (not in the original recipe…but my additions)

Cook the bacon as desired (recipe says on the stove in a non-stick pan, but I went for my classic, the quick and easy route, on paper towels for 3 minutes in the microwave). Toast the bread. Mash the avocado on one slice of bread, season with salt and pepper. Spread the mayo on the other slice of bread. Layer the bacon, lettuce, tomato and onion and then sandwich the bread together. Eat and enjoy, with a huge smile on your face Smile (unless you don’t like avocado, then you’d be frowning…but if you don’t like avocado, you probably wouldn’t have bothered to make this sandwich in the first place). Don’t be surprised to see more recipes from this cookbook appearing in the future….after all, I’ve got 299 to go! Winking smile

IMG_0617

You know what’s the only thing that made this dinner better? The fact that it was followed by some of this deliciousness at the Cold Stone Creamery – more specifically, a “Like-it” sized cup of Peanut Butter Cup Perfection – chocolate ice cream, peanut butter, fudge and peanut butter cups….it was EVERY bit as delicious as it sounds! There has been a Cold Stone in a Tim Horton’s 15 minutes away from our house for several months, but we still hadn’t been. When coupons came with the paper this week, I suggested a field trip with my mom….and she agreed! It’s a good thing we left when we did….I said that it was so good that I could eat another one….and my mom suggested we order another to share…yikes!

Although this ice cream was a splurge (hello 80/20!), it was a well-deserved treat. A couple of weeks back, I wrote about my Thursday night “splurge” mentality. I like to think of this ice cream as “Thursday night – done right!” This ice cream was something decadent that I certainly wouldn’t have on an every day basis, but I enjoyed every bite of it. I will confess, I still had a slight case of the “Thursday night munchies” when I got home and found some chocolate and dried fruit…but I didn’t do too badly (could have been better, could have been worse). And Friday was right back on the healthy track.

Do you have any new cookbooks/recipes you’re excited to try? And what flavour is your pleasure when it comes to ice cream splurges?

One Response to “Hungry for More”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 3, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    A true ice cream splurge (as in NOT frozen yogurt) would be Dairy Queen plain old vanilla. Creamy heaven!

Leave a Reply

