Abort Mission

3 Apr

So yesterday, I did something I’ve never done before….I shortened a training run. I’ve run through incredible blister pain, gone barefoot on the the sand, run in the dark, run in the snow. So why did I bail yesterday? It wasn’t raining, it wasn’t snowing, it wasn’t even that cold. In fact, the weather was gorgeous! I felt fine, no blister or muscle pain in sight. So why the shorter route? Well, in short, I just wasn’t feeling it.

For one thing, I went out much later than usual…I started out for what I planned to be an eight mile run around 12:15….every time I exercise at a time other than the morning, I am reminded how much I like running/exercising in the morning…I like to get up and go and just have my workout out of the way for the day. So I was already dreading the run before I started out, since it was later in the day.

I was also kind of hungry. Since I’m not used to running in the middle of the day, I’m not used to eating/fuelling my body at that time of day…does that make any sense? Although I did eat a good breakfast (more on that below), my tummy was rumbling during my run.

Now…before I conclude this post-run analysis, this run wasn’t an epic failure or anything. I had planned to run 8 miles, and I ended up doing about 6. I was still out there for over an hour. Plus, I completely made up my half training plan. I used 8 miles as the distance for the “shorter long runs” because that’s what I did for my full marathon. But I feel like if 8 is good for a full, 6 is more than enough for a half, right? Plus, it’s not like I totally skipped a workout or anything. I’m trying to get better at the whole “listen to your body” thing….so I feel like it’s all part of the journey…and I’m feeling no guilt at all! Smile

Onto the eats…IMG_0623 my mom requested a breakfast from my new Hungry Girl Cookbook, and I delivered with 2 Crunchy Beefy Taco Egg Mugs (actually made in bowls). Here’s how to make ‘em.

Crunchy Beefy Taco Egg Mug – from Hungry Girl: 300 under 300

1/4 cup frozen ground beef-style soy crumbles

1/4 teaspoon taco seasoning mix (which I did not have on hand, so I substituted some Epicure seasonings and cumin)

3/4 cup fat-free liquid egg substitute

1 tbsp low fat or fat-free cheddar cheese (I used Tex-Mex blend…it’s what I had)

4 low-fat baked tortilla chips, roughly crushed (mine were blue, hence the colour in the photo)

1 tbsp salsa

1 tbsp fat-free sour cream (I substituted Greek yogurt)

….after typing out this recipe, I realize how much I substitute in recipes and don’t even realize it!

Spray a large microwave-safe mug (or a bowl) with non-stick spray. Add frozen crumbles and microwave for 45 seconds, or until thawed.

Add taco seasoning and mix well. Add egg substitute, stir, and microwave for 1 1/2 minutes.

Gently stir and then sprinkle with cheese. Microwave for 1 minute, or until scramble is just set. Top with tortilla chips, salsa and sour cream.

We enjoyed these with sliced pears on the side, and I also made an almond milk “latte” (not pictured).

IMG_0625

The post-run lunch was also quite a treat. I had part of an avocado leftover in the fridge from my BLTA Club so I put it to good use: a Southwestern Avocado cheeseburger (my own delicious creation). I simply smeared 1/4 of an avocado over one half of a thin bun. I melted one Velveeta slice over a veggie burger (one of my Buffalo Bocas), put it on top of the Avocado-topped bun, and topped with salsa and sliced onion). OH YUM! I heart avocado. Would certainly make this one again. The veggies you see on the side are an eclectic mix of what I had in my fridge/needed to use up, sautéed in one tsp olive oil, and the seasonings are salt, pepper, lemon zest and juice, and garlic. I finished up the meal with an HG Raspberry Mocha. More  HG: 300 under 300 recipes will be coming up this week…so I hope you don’t get sick of them!

Have you ever bailed/shortened a planned workout or training run and why? And…do you make a lot of substitutions when you cook/bake? Any favourites?

One Response to “Abort Mission”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 3, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Great job on listening to your body AND not feeling guilty about not doing the full run…That really is part of the journey. I had a failure-to-launch yoga session on friday morning…

    One thing I don’t usually eat is salty type breakfasts…I am definitely a sweet type breakfast person for sure!

    When I cook and bake, it’s just become habit to immediately spot where I can use substitutions…I like to see it as an ongoing game/challenge.

    In baking I love using applesauce in place of oil and coconut butter in place of real butter. In cooking, I would say the biggest substitution I make would be ground turkey for ground beef.

Leave a Reply

