Nachos + Cheeseburger = A healthy meal?

5 Apr

IMG_0636

…the answer is yes (when the nachos are No-Nonsense Nacho Lettuce Cups and the cheeseburgers are Cheeseburger Mashed Potato Parfaits from Hungry Girl: 300 under 300. This was the perfect sort-of-junk food-tasting supper to eat on the couch while watching a movie Saturday night. My mom rented 127 Hours because we are going to have the opportunity to hear Aron Ralston (rock climber who cut off his own arm) speak in May (more on that in the weeks to come, don’t want to spoil the surprise). It’s pretty intense in parts, needless to say (we had to cover our eyes). Even though you know what’s going to happen, it’s still a nail-biter.  Whether or not you choose to watch this movie, you definitely want to choose to make this meal! Read on to see how to do just that (note: both of these recipes are written to serve 4 – I halved them since I was cooking for two). Another note: the cheeseburger parfaits use instant mashed potato flakes – not something that I’m really a fan of or would use on a regular basis. But I actually had some in my cupboard that I had bought last summer for another recipe – so when I saw this one, I figured it was a good way to use them up!

IMG_0635-1

First of all, I preceded this meal with a salad. Although it wasn’t “unhealthy,” it didn’t include a lot of veggies, so I made sure to get them in this salad (which was extra basil-y….my mom re-organized the spice drawer, and 2 jars of basil got put together in one, but the strainer part didn’t get put back on, so I dumped and got WAY more dried basil than I bargained for!

 No-Nonsense Nacho Lettuce Cups (serves 4 – 236 calories, 6.75 g fat, 4.25 fiber per serving)

from Hungry Girl: 300 under 300

8 ounces raw lean ground turkey

2 teaspoons taco seasoning mix (I didn’t have, so I substituted other spices)

1 cup fat-free refried beans

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/2 cup shredded fat-free cheddar cheese

1/4 cup shredded reduced-fat Mexican blend cheese (I just used low fat Tex-Mex in place of both cheeses)

1/4 cup sliced olives (I don’t like olives, so I omitted them and my mom just topped her own plate at the end)

2 tablespoons jarred jalapeno slices

20 small leaves butter or romaine lettuce

1/2 cup shopped tomatoes

1/2 cup fat-free sour cream (I substituted Greek yogurt, it’s what I had)

IMG_0633-1

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a large bowl, combine turkey with taco seasoning and mix well.

Lay a large piece of aluminum foil on a baking sheet and spray with nonstick spray. Spread beans onto the center of the foil. Use your hands to break up turkey and evenly spread over beans. Evenly top with onion, both types of cheese, olives and jalapeno slices.IMG_0632-1

Place another large piece of foil over the mixture. Fold together and seal all four edges of the two foil pieces, forming a well-sealed packet. Bake in the oven for 30 to 35 minutes, until turkey is cooked through.

Allow packet to cool for a few minutes, and then cut to release steam before opening it entirely (watch out for the steam – it’ll be hot)!

Evenly distribute nacho mixture among lettuce cups, about 2 tbsp per lettuce cup, and top with chopped tomatoes and sour cream.

Cheeseburger Mashed Potato Parfaits (serves 4 – 168 calories, 1.5 g fat, 3.25 g fibre per serving)

from Hungry Girl: 300 under 300

1 1/3 cups instant mashed potato flakes

1/4 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp salt (instead of both of these, I just used several dashes garlic salt)

1/4 cup fat-free sour cream (yogurt, same as above for me)

2 frozen meatless hamburger-style patties with about 100 calories each

2 slices fat-free American cheese (mine were Velveeta), broken into small pieces

1/2 cup chopped tomatoes

1/2 cup chopped onion

4 tsp ketchup

4 hamburger dill pickle chips

In a large microwave-safe bowl, combine potato flakes, onion powder, salt, and 2 1/3 cups water. Stir until completely moistened, cover and microwave for 4 minutes, or until hot.

Once cool enough to handle, add sour cream and stirl until blended and smooth. Re-cover to keep hot and set aside.

Prepare burgers according to package directions. Let cool and chop well, set aside.

Scoop about 1/3 cup potatoes into each of 4 parfait glasses. Evenly distribute chopped burger patties among the glasses, followed by cheese pieces.

Evenly distribute remaining mashed potatoes among the glasses, followed by tomatoes and onion. Top each with 1 tsp ketchup and a pickle chip.

These recipes are both great spins on old favourites…and the best part? They’re both guilt-free! Try them both….you won’t regret it! Do you have any favourite recipes that are unconventional takes on classics?

5 Responses to “Nachos + Cheeseburger = A healthy meal?”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 5, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    Oh my gosh!! I JUST posted pretty much the same concept and then I came to visit my blogging twin! Serendipity strikes again!

    My post today deals with guilt free fast food! Go check it out lady!

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 5, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    PS both of these recipes look fantastic! I am definitely trying them out asap!

  3. Suzy Eats April 6, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Great idea! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I am trying to lose the last 10 pounds…this may help 🙂

Leave a Reply

