One hot tamale

8 Apr

IMG_0665So…after a few days break…return to another DELICIOUS recipe from Hungry Girl: 300 under 300. This one goes south of the border for some delicious Mexican inspiration. Another bonus? It’s a crockpot recipe! So it was perfect for Tuesday night: I had hula hooping at 6:30, and my mom had an appointment out of town. So I browned the meat, she finished the prep and we had a hot and healthy meal waiting for us at 7:30 – I just added sides of sweet ‘n spicy squash and a salad and we were good to go.

What were my thoughts of this recipe (sorry, just realized I hadn’t told you the recipe titleEmbarrassed smile: Outside In Turkey Tamale Pie)? I thought it could have used a tad more salt, but other than that, I really liked it. And what I liked even better? I re-imagined the leftovers to make 2 SUPER-tasty meals (read more about that below). One caveat to this recipe: it stuck REALLY badly to the slow cooker…if making it again, I would spray it first with cooking spray. And the picture doesn’t really do the recipe justice…it tastes better than it looks!

Outside-in Turkey Tamale PieIMG_0664

from Hungry Girl: 300 under 300 – makes 7 servings (230 calories, 7.5 g fat, 3 g fibre per serving)

1 1/4 lbs. raw lean ground turkey (I used part chicken, part turkey, it’s what I had)
3/4 cup yellow cornmeal
1 cup fat-free chicken or vegetable broth
One 14.5-oz. can diced tomatoes with chiles (we didn’t have this, so substituted plain canned tomatoes with the addition of some pickled jalapenos)
1 small onion, chopped
3/4 cup canned sweet corn, drained (the day after eating this, we realized that my mom forgot to put it in! So I added some corn when reheating leftovers)
1/2 cup canned kidney beans, drained
1/2 cup sliced black olives, drained (I don’t like olives and I couldn’t even taste them)
2 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. ground cumin
Optional toppings: fat-free shredded cheddar cheese, fat-free sour cream

Bring a large skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium-high heat on the stove. Add turkey and spread it around to break it up a bit. Cook and crumble until meat is brown and cooked through, about 6 minutes. Drain any excess liquid and add turkey to the crock pot.

In a bowl, combine cornmeal with broth and whisk thoroughly. Let stand for 5 minutes.

Add cornmeal mixture to the crock pot along with all other ingredients. Mix thoroughly.

Cover and cook on high for 3 – 4 hours or on low for 7 – 8 hours.
Serve and, if you like, top each serving with cheese and/or sour cream.

So what did I do with the leftovers? I made one tasty supper and one great lunch. Wednesday’s supper? A burrito bowl with a side of kale chips. And Thursday’s lunch? Southwest veggie/turkey soup. Read on to find out how to make this deliciousness.

IMG_0672I divided one serving of the tamale pie leftovers in two…using 3/5 for the burrito bowl and the other 2/5 for the soup. Burrito bowl first. I cooked some of the worst butternut squash I’ve ever had (so woody and fibrous, but I guess that’s what I get for buying from Mexico), diced and a bit of diced cauliflower in salted water in the microwave. I mashed the cooked veggies with some salsa and lots of ground cumin. I topped this with 1/2 cup refried beans (NOT the flavourless organic ones this time, good ol’ El Paso) and then the 3/5 of a portion of leftover “pie.” I heated this in the microwave for a few minutes, then topped with one Velveeta cheese slice, torn into pieces, and microwaved for another minute to melt the cheese. I topped it all off with 6 crumbled Guiltless Gourmet spicy black bean chips, chopped onion tomato and pickled jalapeno pepper, and plain fat-free Greek yogurt and salsa. YUM YUM YUM! I am glad that there are more leftovers in the freezer so I have the ability to make this again….loved it!

IMG_0673As for the kale chips? Usual routine except I added some Cajun seasoning along with the garlic salt and olive oil…I couldn’t really taste the Cajun seasoning, but the chips were still delicious as usual.

IMG_0671

 

 

 

Now onto the soup….this one was easy. All I did was sauté an assortment of veggies (I opened my fridge and saw what I had/what needed to be used up, that was my inspiration) in a tsp of olive oil  for a few minutes.  Then I added some canned tomatoes, a few pieces of a dried  chile pepper I had in the cupboard, a bit of chicken broth, the 2/5 portion of leftovers, and salt, pepper, cumin and various Mexican-ish spices (Epicure nacho cheese dip mix, Pueblo bean dip mix…and I can’t quite remember exactly what else…just use chili powder and cumin to get the essential flavour), brought it to a boil, then reduced heat and let it simmer for about 20 minutes. It reheated nicely the next day for a satisfying lunch.

I know I’ve said it before, but let me say it again, loud and proud: I LOVE leftovers….this meal was great, and the other two that came out of it were great too! And There are 3 more servings in the freezer. Smile What’s your favourite freezable meal?

5 Responses to “One hot tamale”

  1. Ellie April 8, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    oh mann i was JUST craving a tamale or enchilada or something! this just makes me crave it more 😛 haha when I read the title, I thought it said “One Hot Female”. ?? haha!

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 9, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    I was looking at the guiltless black bean chips tonight when at the grocery store…How do you like them?

    PS mmmmm kale chips….

    Fav freezer meal? Right now I would say cabbage rolls but chili and homemade soups are always my favs!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Corn to be wild « hungryhealthyhilary - August 2, 2011

    […] onion, garlic, cauliflower, black beans, crushed San Marzano tomatoes, canned black beans, and leftover outside-in tamale pie (a little freezer burned after almost 4 months in the freezer, but not much worse for wear)? […]

Leave a Reply

