Smooth Saturday

10 Apr

I decided to continue with my “days of the week alliterationIMG_0684post title theme Winking smile…but this one makes sense too, trust me! Inspired by the deliciousness over on RFKW,  (and Katie was inspired by some other delicious healthy-eating blogs like KERF, I believe) I decided to take the plunge and try the smoothie in a bowl trend for yesterday’s breakfast. That’s one thing I LOVE about blogs and blogging….there are always fresh ideas out there…other bloggers have new and different ideas for ingredients you may have never tried, or they just re-imagine things I have/use daily, but put them together in a way I never would have thought of. Case in point: the SIAB. Now of course I’ve made a smoothie before (haven’t we all?), but never would have thought to eat it from a bowl, with some delicious toppings mixed in.

Here’s how I made my SIAB. My fruit was some of my frozen berries (about 3/4 cup strawberries and 1/2 cup blueberries), thawed in the microwave for one minute. This is a trick I like when using frozen fruit….I find that if it is frozen solid, I have to add more liquid than I would like, but if you thaw it all the way, you have to add a ton of ice. Giving it a quick zap for a minute warms it up just enough that it blends easily, and I can add in a bit more ice if I need a thicker smoothie. I blended together the berries, one cup unsweetened almond milk, a splash of vanilla, a touch of Splenda (I need to cut back, I know!) and 2 or 3 ice cubes. I poured the smoothie into a bowl and got to topping. My add-ins were 1/3 cup yogurt (mostly Greek, but I was a bit short, so had to add in a bit of my mom’s blueberry yogurt) and 1/2 cup of my yummy Costco cereal.

The verdict on my first SIAB attempt? Success! I loved the mix of textures…the cereal gave it a nice crunch, and I loved the creamy, tart blobs of yogurt. I will definitely make more SIABs, particularly as the weather heats up. I definitely see them as more of a warm weather breakfast, but since we’re a few weeks into spring and summer’s around the corner, that’s no problem. I can’t wait to experiment with different fruit combos depending on what’s in season.

After fuelling with my SIAB, I headed off to the gym for military tone (since I got my long run done on Wednesday)….I was definitely feeling the burn! I guess since I haven’t been going much lately? Corry shows no mercy, so even though I’m tired after, I’m glad to push it to the limit and know I’ve worked my hardest.

Once class was over, I headed straight to the grocery store to pick up the few things we needed. I was greeted by a nice surprise in the produce section: $4.99 cases of mangoes! Smile SmileSmileIMG_0685

Since reading about Katie’s ban-ango soft serve, I’ve been having mango envy. I even thought of stopping by Costco when I was in London on Friday, because I thought my local Superstore wasn’t likely to have whole cases for cheap,  but I was too tired. So, needless to say, I was SO happy to see these babies for $4.99!

Open-mouthed smileIMG_0686Just look at them…there are 7 in the case….so if you ask me, that’s quite a steal for five dollars! The only downside is that none of them were ripe enough to use right away Sad smile….they’ll need minimum two days, I think. I’ve got big plans for them though. I plan to take some time at night (was going to be on the weekend, but I can’t since they’re not ripe yet) prepping the mangoes – peeling and chopping, so they’ll be ready to be thrown into meals (especially breakfasts) during the week. Expect to see these guys make SIAB appearances, mixed into my yogurt (will be nice to have a break from cooked apples/thawed frozen berries), in salads at lunch, OF COURSE ban-ango soft serve…I’m even thinking that slice mango would make a tasty panini with melted brie! Does that sound crazy? At the very least, I may try re-creating that pear/brie/chocolate dessert with mango.  And I think there’s a salad recipe with mango in my new HG cookbook, so I might give that a whirl too. What do you think? Any mango ideas/fav mango recipes for me? I’ve got 7 mangoes to experiment with.

The rest of my Saturday was spent doing (mostly) things I love: blogging, reading other blogs, a small bit of yardwork (that’s the part I don’t love so much), cooking (another new HG cookbook recipe for lunch and pizza for supper since I missed my usual Friday pizza night…posts to come on that), soaking in the tub while reading magazines, and catching up on a BUNCH of DVR’ed shows (Food Network Canada released several new shows this week, so of course I had to record them all to see if I like them, on top of the usual DVR suspects).

So stay tuned for HHH’s Mango Madness this week!

3 Responses to “Smooth Saturday”

  1. Lettuce Choose Healthy April 10, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    love smoothies in a bowl!!

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 11, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Lookin good!!!

    Those were the mangos I bought last week…

    I definitely suggest chopping them up and freezing some too…They add so much to smoothies and soft serve!

    Thanks for the shout out as always…

    • hungryhealthyhilary April 11, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      You are welcome! Only one mango has been ripe enough to use so far…I am so impatient!

Leave a Reply

