Rice Paper Wraps and R.I.P Recipes

11 Apr

IMG_0716

Happy Monday everyone! I’ll get to the deliciousness that is today’s lunch in a moment, but first, an explanation to the sorry circumstances that lead to the second half of the title. Due entirely to human error (aka, Hilary’s camera told her the memory card was full and she thought, “oh, I’ll just wipe it all off” before transferring all of Saturday/Sunday’s photos), several delicious meals that would have been documented here on HHH have been lost. The casualties included: a new HG recipe for a butternut squash/cauliflower/chicken foil pack; a grilled veggie, bacon and brie pizza; an apple/cinnamon dessert creation, apple breakfast quesadillas and a simply scrumptious turkey, caramelized onion and brie panini. Those all sound yummy, don’t they? I thought about still doing the recipe run-down, but really, it’s not the same without the photos. And as all of those dishes were quite delectable, I’ll likely be making them again, and when I do, I’ll be sure to post them on HHH. It’s frustrating, but it could have been worst…at least I only lost 3 weeks worth of photos…and really, in the big scheme of things, it’s not a major issue.

IMG_0717

Now onto happier things: rice paper wraps! You know those soft, fresh veggie spring rolls you get at Asian restaurants? You can TOTALLY make them at home…and they make a great lunch that will certainly cause some lunch envy at your workplace. Some of the girls I worked with in the fall had got their hands on rice paper wraps (see picture above) and made their own creations. On a trip to London in the fall, I found some at an Asian store at the market and now I can make my own whenever I please. This is not a terribly difficult lunch to make, but it’s not the fastest…best for when you’ve got a little more time on your hands (hence why I made them on a Sunday afternoon for Monday’s lunch).

The wraps are quite hard and brittle when you get them, so you need to soak them first. Get the biggest pan you have (or at least one big enough to hold a wrap laying flat) and boil some water (you don’t need it very deep at all). Let it cool slightly, then place a wrap in the water, making sure the water covers if completely…leave it in there till it’s nice and soft and almost transparent (will only take about 3o seconds). Carefully (the wrap will be very sticky at this point, and will fold over on itself if you’re not careful) lay the soaked wrap on a flat surface.IMG_0718

This is where you add your fillings. I like to do a combo of protein/seasoning/veggies. My seasoning of choice is typically Asian chili garlic sauce (you can find it in the Asian section of most grocery stores)…a little goes a long way! I spread this on the wrap. Then I topped with a slice of lean deli turkey. My veggies were a few diced snap peas and some broccoli slaw (works perfectly here). I topped with a bit of garlic salt, then rolled it all up. Roll tightly – the wrap sticks to itself so it holds everything together nicely.  Repeat for as many rolls as you’d like (I made 2 for my lunch).

IMG_0719

Here’s what the wraps look like when finished. I sliced mine in half, for easier eating. I also bring some soy sauce for dipping. The wraps are a bit of work to track down (easier if you’re lucky enough to live close to an Asian market/grocery store), but there’s lots in a package and they keep well. I finished off this lunch with an Asian slaw on the side (broccoli slaw, snap peas, green onion, celery with a dressing of Italian dressing/soy sauce/sesame oil/balsamic vinegar), a cheese string, yogurt and a pear (some eaten at first nutrition break, some at second).

This lunch is a good one to shake things up if you’re in a bit of a rut (we’ve all been there)! What’s your favourite lunch-time rut-busting meal? And have you ever made any silly technology mistakes that resulted in a loss of photos/data? (Please share, it will make me feel better about myself Winking smile).

4 Responses to “Rice Paper Wraps and R.I.P Recipes”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 11, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    You must have been DEVASTATED when you lost those pictures…It stings a little doesn’t it??

    I’ve always wanted to make my own fresh rolls but have been scared to try out the rice paper..Thank you SO much for showing me how easy they really are! I really want to play with this now!

  2. Catherine M.A. April 11, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    I echo Katie’s comment–I, too, am intimidated by rice paper rolls but now feel like I can rush out to one of the many Asian marts nearby my house, purchase some rice paper, and get rolling (literally)! Thank-you for removing my intimidation, dear sister!

  3. hungryhealthyhilary April 11, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    You are welcome ladies…glad I could help…be sure to share your rice paper adventures with me!

Leave a Reply

