Mmmmmango!

15 Apr

You knew it was coming. I bought 7 mangoes.IMG_0757 Now what to do with them? Here are only a couple of the multiple mango meals I’ve consumed (and have yet to consume) this week….they’re still ripening, so as of today, I’ve only cut into 3. That means 4 to go…and I am SO up for the challenge!

I’m not posting all of my mango mania in one post, I want to space it out…so for today we’ll go with yesterday’s breakfast and lunch.

Yesterday’s breakfast was a mango-strawberry SIAB. Here’s how that one went down. I microwaved 3/4 cup frozen strawberries for 30 seconds, just to thaw every-so-slightly, for easier blending. I hadn’t planned to repeat this trick with the 1/2 IMG_0756cup frozen mango chunks, but they were ROCK-solid, so I had to nuke them a bit just to get them out of the container. I put my partially thawed fruit into the blender with 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, a splash of vanilla and a touch of Splenda then blended away. The mix went into a bowl, and was topped with the usual suspects: 1/3 cup of Greek yogurt blobs (a great flavour/texture contrast) and 1/2 cup of my old standby: Costco cereal. A couple pieces of the mango didn’t blend in smoothly, but i actually enjoyed the few chunks as a textural contrast. Mmmm…what a great way to start my day! Side note: I know my breakfast photos aren’t always the greatest, but when I’m getting ready to go out the door to school, optimal photography is not a priority. It’s more like, make breakfast, get the food in my face, and try to grab a photo that at least illustrates what I ate. So, sorry, but you’ll have to take what you get!

IMG_0749

Onto lunch….oh lunch, SO good. I made this salad the night before (naturally), and was so excited to eat it (you know you’re a nerdy healthy food blogger when you get super-excited about a salad you packed in your lunch). This baby did not disappoint.  The photos just do not do it justice. See this salad? It had loads of veggies (lettuce, broccoli slaw, white and green onion, bell peppers, celery, IMG_0750broccoli…think that was it) and mango chunks, and diced deli turkey….and I topped it off with a homemade balsamic vinaigrette. It definitely generated some buzz (and I think maybe even salad envy) in the staff room yesterday. You know, as a supply teacher, that you have a good lunch when teachers who you don’t even know are commenting about IMG_0748it. Smile

The salad was enjoyed with a cheese string (first nutrition break snack), and then another 1/2 cup mango chunks (why not, right?) and 2 tropical yogurts…perfect compliment to the fresh mango.

I wish that cases of mangoes were $4.99 more often…but then again, they wouldn’t be such a treat if that was the norm. I’ve got more mango meals to post, and more I want to try out….I’m thinking they’d be great in a sweet and sour stir fry, or mixed into salsa as a topping for chicken? Again, if you’ve got any great mango ideas….post ‘em for me! Like I said, 3 down, 4 to go!

One Response to “Mmmmmango!”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 16, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    I love mango chunks in salad too…

    OOOOOO sweet & sour stir fry!!! Great idea!

Leave a Reply

