Healthy and Hands-free

18 Apr

IMG_0793

So after Friday night’s food and festivities, you would think I’d go straight home and go to bed, right? Not so much. I dropped off my dates (my mom at home, and her friend Allie at her house) and headed out to the grocery store. We were helping my sister and brother-in-law move on Saturday and I had volunteered to bring lunch, so I needed groceries. Well, it was just after 9:30 after I made my drop-offs, so it made sense to go to Sobey’s, which is open 24 hours, instead of the Superstore, which closes at 10, right? You would be right, except that I had planned my menu around PC Blue Menu Garlic and Herb Chicken Skewers, only available at the Superstore. Off I went on my mad dash – not only was I getting groceries for Saturday’s lunch, I was attempting to get the groceries for our house that were on the list as well!

I felt like I was on Supermarket Sweep! Anybody else watch this show back in the ‘90’s? supermarket sweepMy sister and I were sort of obsessed with it. Sorry for the bad picture…I tried to find some good youtube videos, but couldn’t. Anyway, I raced through the aisles, and although I didn’t win any prizes, I managed to get everything I needed.

As the title suggests, my goal for this lunch was for it to be completely hands (and plates and utensils)-free and healthy. Especially after my big meal the night before, I didn’t want something that would weigh me down. And since the house was a mess, and we were busy moving, something hands-free was the best option, so we could just sit down, eat, and get on with things, without having to worry about dishes. And since I was out late on Friday, it also had to be something I could throw together quickly. So what met all my criteria? I set up a smorgasbord of the following:

IMG_0794

  • – a selection of fresh veggies (baby carrots and tomatoes = no chopping, plus sliced cucumbers and red pepper). Side note: If you want a wide selection of produce – don’t shop 20 minutes before store closing – the shelves were pretty bare!
  • – PC Blue Menu Tzatziki Dip (can’t get enough of this stuff)
  • A homemade dip I made from fat-free sour cream, fat-free Miracle Whip, a generous dollop of Dijon mustard and then a bit of Epicure Lemon Dilly and Herb and Garlic dip mixes, as well as some Ranch dip mix
  • Boursin light herb and garlic cream cheese
  • Guiltless Gourmet Spicy Black Bean Tortilla Chips
  • Assorted baked chips/crackers
  • Fresh mild salsa (bought in the refrigerated deli section…don’t remember the brand, but it’s good)
  • The above-mentioned PC chicken skewers
  • Turkey Pepperettes (spell check things that should say Peppertrees Winking smile)
  • A large pre-cut fruit salad (normally I don’t go for these since it’s not a great deal, but I was crunched for time)
  • A container of strawberries (3 for $5!) – not the sweetest though
  • These absolutely delicious dark chocolate covered blueberry and acai berries (a last-minute impulse buy…but they were a HUGE hit)
  • A few cookies and tarts I bought with extra tickets at Eat Drink Norfolk (not for me, but for others)

IMG_0795

I’d say the meal was a huge hit. We ate it sitting on the floor on a paint cloth in what will be the library room of the new house (if you know my sister, you know why she needs a library). Everyone was free to eat as much or as little as they wanted of everything, and there was a good variety.

It’s easy for me to overdo it on meals that consist of a bunch of finger foods, but I planned this one so I’d have lots of healthy options. I ate two of the chicken skewers so I’d be sure to get in some filling protein. Then I had LOTS of veggies with salsa and the two dips, I only ate a very few of the crackers, then had LOTS of fruit and just a few of the chocolate-covered berries (but seriously, they are SO GOOD).

So, if you’re moving or tackling a house project, or going on a picnic (if the weather warms up….grrr), and looking for a quick, healthy, mess-free meal, I’d highly recommend this one, and I think the rest of the moving crew would agree!

What’s your favourite hands-free/no-dishes meal?

4 Responses to “Healthy and Hands-free”

  1. Catherine M.A. April 18, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    The rest of the moving crew definitely agrees–I am sure we will have more picnics in the library (some even with utensils!) in the months and years to come…thanks for blessing us with such a great meal!

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 18, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Such AWESOME finger foods!! Anytime you feel like travelling to Regina to make me lunch, my door is wide open!

    Jeff loves those turkey sticks! I am a big fan of Blue Menu tzatziki too…..Actually blue menu in general is really impressing me lately…

    I would say your spread is pretty close to what mine would be…I would also make some fruit salsa and have some cinnamon pita/tortilla chips with it…I would probably make some muffins for the occasion and have some hummus on hand for dipping too….

    Excellent healthy choices Hilary!

    • hungryhealthyhilary April 18, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      Why thank you! 🙂 Normally, I would have loved to have baked something to go along with it, but time did not permit last weekend….mmm fruit salsa and cinnamon chips…I’ve made that, but it’s been awhile….yummy!

      • Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 19, 2011 at 8:14 am #

        Welcome 😉

        It’s been a while on the fruit salsa front for me too…There is an awesome brand of cinnamon tortilla chips that you can buy from Safeway and Superstore (and I am sure everywhere else) that I like to bring to potlucks with the salsa….Otherwise I like to make my own pita chips at home…

        Num Num!

Leave a Reply

