Mexican and Mango

19 Apr

IMG_0797After all that moving on Saturday, my mom and I needed some sustenance. So we decided to stop for dinner on the way home at Lonestar Texas Grill. We knew it would be packed, being Saturday night after all, so we put our name on the waiting list and made our way to the bar. We found a spot at the end of a long table, my mom was seated, but I had to stand. Tables and booths in the bar are first come, first served, so we kept our eyes peeled.

We ordered drinks (diet Coke and water for me) and then they brought us the usual free chips and salsa. Now these chips are made fresh in the restaurant, and the salsa’s nice and chunky, but I exercised some MAJOR willpower. I ate a few small nacho fragments, but really didn’t dig into the basket…I was SO proud of myself! I was thinking about it, and chips and salsa, even if they’re really good chips and salsa, are still just chips and salsa. I can have them anytime, anywhere. So why blow a bunch of calories before I even get my meal on something that’s pretty run-of-the-mill? Plus, I had indulged the night before and have more indulgences coming up, so I did NOT need the extra calories.

We ordered while we were still standing/sitting at the long, crowded skinny table, and chose to share an order of steak fajitas. I was a little nervous when they brought out the fajita add-ons that I’d have to eat standing up! Thankfully, a booth right next to us cleared out, and we pounced on it (I tell you, the killer instincts are right on when it comes to food). Not long after, the tell-tale sizzle alerted us that our fajitas were a-comin’.

IMG_0798

I really enjoy fajitas, and if they’re on the menu at a restaurant, I always almost order them (sorry for the not-so-stellar photo). Unless they’re cooked in a crazy amount of oil or sauce, they’re an easy do-it-yourself healthy option when dining out. I ALWAYS limit myself to two tortillas per sitting (the tortillas at Lonestar are REALLY good, and when visiting the website, I discovered why – they’re cooked fresh to order)! I never use the sour cream, cheese, rice or guacamole that comes with the fajitas (well, ok, I had a tiny dab of guac on SaturdayWinking smile). I load up my wraps with lettuce, salsa, veggies and meat and enjoy. I usually eat some extra meat after I’m done my allotted two wraps, which fills me up with protein but not the added carbs and calories of more tortillas.

IMG_0799

The Lonestar fajitas also come with a side of beans, which I had a couple of bites of. All in all, this was a satisfying meal out that was without regret. Since I was smart at the restaurant, I could even have an HG vanilla milkshake and then later on some popcorn to snack on when I got home…SCORE!

IMG_0754

Onto the mango portion of the post (you didn’t think I’d forgotten about my mango stash, did you?). Last week, I froze some mango chunks and finally got around to trying Katie’s ban-ango soft serve. For my version (makes one serving), I combined 1 frozen banana, in chunks with between half and one cup of frozen mango chunks and a couple of splashes of almond milk. I processed in my mini food processor until nice and smooth.

IMG_0755

The results? Just look at this big beautiful bowl of delight. That’s one thing I really like about this stuff – BIG PORTIONS! I eat low fat ice cream and frozen yogurt, and love every bite of my tiny half cup serving, but sometimes, you just need a BIG bowl of dessert, ya know? My only complaint was that it wasn’t as mango-y as I would have liked. Even with that beautiful orange colour, the banana was still the dominant flavour. It was still absolutely delicious though.

There is more mango mania on the horizon, so stay tuned!

8 Responses to “Mexican and Mango”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 19, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Good job on showing restraint with the chips! When you are hungry that can be a tough battle to fight….

    I’m glad you enjoyed the mango soft serve! I noticed one of my attempts wasn’t as mango-ey too and I believe it really has to do with how ripe your mango is…The first time I made it, the mango was so ripe I could write a sentence in the skin and it would hold the form…The next time, it was just slightly soft and it wasn’t as in your face mango-ey…

    Off to finish my lunch!

  2. Deborah April 19, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Now I wish I had some mangoes!

  3. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel April 19, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    I’ve never tried Lone Star but every time i drive by i think i really should go there sometime, now i know things are fresh when you order them i might have to make it a priority!
    I’m loving mango/banana soft serves SO much right now too, wish the weather was warmer though 😛

  4. Suzy Eats April 19, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    mango’s are a must in our house. I love LoneStar too; haven’t been there in awhile.

  5. Natalie @ Will jog for food April 19, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Now I have a good use for my bananas, YAY!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You’ve been (soft) served! « hungryhealthyhilary - June 3, 2011

    […] for you mango lovers, there’s also mango banana soft serve (giving credit where credit is due, I got this particular flavour combo idea from […]

Leave a Reply

