Back from the Great Beyond

22 Apr

IMG_0837

Remember when I posted about how my own foolishness caused me to lose a bunch of food pictures? Well, I made one of those recipes again, so this time, I made sure to upload the pics to my computer so I could share them with YOU! This recipe for Dreamy Butternut Chicken Foil Pack comes from Hungry Girl: 300 under 300, so no doubt it’s healthier than what I’m eating today/the rest of the weekend at Easter family functions. Smile with tongue out

I was attracted to this recipe because of the butternut squash, and the creamy comfort food aspect of it. This recipe calls for condensed soup, an ingredient that I don’t normally cook with. I’m all about whole/real foods most of the time, but once in a while, if I see a recipe that looks good that calls for condensed soup, I’ll go for it. The only problem is using up the leftover soup that stays in the fridge!

So what’s the recipe review? I LOVED the absolutely HUGE portion size. Again, that’s one advantage of eating veggie-packed meals. Flavour-wise, I liked it. It wasn’t absolutely fantastically delicious, but obviously I liked it enough to make it twice within 2 weeks, so it had to be pretty good. Wanna give it a try for yourself? Read on! Note: the recipe below makes 2 servings – both times I made it, I was cooking for one, so I halved everything.

Dreamy Butternut Chicken Foil Pack

From Hungry Girl: 300 under 300 Serves 2 – 292 calories, 3.25 g fat, 6 g fiber per serving

1/2 cup canned low fat condensed cream of chicken soup

1/2 cup fat free sour cream

1 teaspoon chopped garlic

2 cups peeled and sliced butternut squash

1 1/2 cups cauliflower

3/4 cup chopped onion

8 ounces raw boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces

1/8 teaspoon salt, or more to taste

1/8 teaspoon black pepper, or more to taste (I found I needed more of both)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a large bowl, combine soup, sour cream, and garlic. Mix well. Add squash, cauliflower and onion, and stir to coat. Set aside.

IMG_0832

Lay a large piece of foil on a baking sheet and spray with non-stick spray. Lay veggie mixture on the foil sheet and set aside.

Season chicken with salt and pepper, and place it on top of the veggie mixture.

Place another large piece of foil on top. Fold together and seal all four edges of the two foil pieces, forming a well-sealed packet.

Place baking sheet in the oven and bake for about 35 minutes, until chicken is cooked through and veggies are tender.

AIMG_0833llow packet to cool for a few minutes, and then cut to release steam before opening it entirely (watch out for the steam). Mix well and serve, seasoning with salt and pepper if you like. Look at all that creamy chicken and veggie goodness – that is ONE serving size! You can’t argue with that.

This meal was perfect for Tuesday, as I had hooping at 6:30 – so I set my oven timer and had it ready when I got back.

IMG_0836

On the side, I enjoyed an Asian slaw that I made ahead of time (slaws are better this way anyway, they can soak up the flavour). My base was broccoli slaw mix and some assorted fresh veggies, and my dressing was a mix of soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, sesame oil and fat-free Italian dressing. I served the chicken over a package of tofu shirataki fettucini – the perfect vehicle for my creamy saucy supper (I rinsed, drained and cut them before I left so they’d be ready to rock when I got back).

All in all, a tasty supper – and like I said, perfect for a make-ahead. What’s your take on condensed soup? Do you stay far, far away from it, cook with it all the time, or use it every once in a while, like me?

P.S….today’s the first of the family get-togethers of Easter weekend, which = lots of delicious food. Wish me luck! Hopefully I’ll be back with updates!

5 Responses to “Back from the Great Beyond”

  1. Megan April 22, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    This sounds really yummy! My only question is, did you just use one chicken breast? 8 ounces means nothing to me!

    • hungryhealthyhilary April 22, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

      Yeah I didn’t weigh or measure or anything…for one portion, I just used one chicken breast….so 2 for you and Stephen.

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 22, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Happy Easter dear friend!

    I love love love butternut squash…It adds such a nice sweetness to any meal…

    Round one of the Easter festivities are starting for me too today…I am planning a run so offset the indulgences…

    ENJOY yourself!!

    • hungryhealthyhilary April 22, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      Thanks…you too! I ran this morning already…so hopefully 8 miles helps :P!

Leave a Reply

