Saturday Speed Post

24 Apr

Saturday was a busy day….and today is Easter (happy Easter!) filled with IMG_0864church, food and family. Long story short: I’m going to make this quick. More detailed posts about all of my Easter baking and eating adventures to come, I promise! After a delicious hot and cold breakfast (apple cinnamon oatmeal and a cold vanilla iced latte) and a quick round of baking, I headed to the gym for a good sweat session….just under half an hour on the stair master and then Military Tone class. Never underestimate the power of a good sweat! No matter what my problem, I almost always feel better after working out. It was the perfect chaser to all the food I ate on Friday.

IMG_0865

After a shower, it was off to Hamilton to help sister and brother-in-law with the move again. Saturday was mostly cleaning. We went out for both lunch and supper. Lunch was an heirloom beet salad (you can’t see them in this photo, but they’re in there, I promise) with arugula, feta and sunflower seeds. It was yummy! Lightly dressed and perfect for a warm spring day (and I think my body was craving veggies after the previous night’s meal)IMG_0866. I also enjoyed a piece of my sister’s cheese/greens/olive (minus the olives for my piece) pizza. More lunch than I would consume if I was at home, but all things considered, I’d say a pretty healthy meal.

After a day of cleaning and moving, we were all tuckered out. We chose another restaurant for supper, and were more than ready to sit down. IMG_0867

Of course,  after all that hard work, I couldn’t resist the bread basket. Winking smile For my entree, I had this whole wheat spaghetti with an olive oil and garlic sauce, grilled vegetables and goat cheese. It was good, but not really out-of-this world. I feel like I could re-create a more flavourful, and less calorie version at home. IMG_0868But it was still pretty good. I ate all the cheese and veggies and left some of the noodles behind. I also had a few bits of my sister’s Caesar salad.

After dinner, we headed home. I would like to say I went straight to bed….but I had two baking projects for today’s Easter to begin. I’ll leave the photos below to keep you guessing and then fill you in in a post to come. I snacked on an apple, as well as some tastes of my “projects,” and a few other things here and there when I got home.

IMG_0871

IMG_0876

 

 

 

 

 

 

Food-wise, it wasn’t the best day ever, but it could have been a lot worse. I was thinking on the way home, that I need to get better at ordering what I really want at restaurants. I have it in my sub-conscious that I need to order the healthiest thing on the menu, so I’m always looking for that item, instead of going for what  I really crave. Then, as I eat my meal, I’m wishing I ordered something else. Does that ever happen to anyone else?

Anyways, that’s it for my quickie post. Once again, happy Easter! I hope you’re all enjoying lots of food and family, and if you’re celebrating, being grateful for what Easter’s all about!

One Response to “Saturday Speed Post”

  1. Heather @ Get Healthy with Heather April 24, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    I hate when I regret what I ordered. I’ve only done it once at breakfast before, but hope to never again!

Leave a Reply

