Fit For a King

29 Apr

Did you get up to watch the Royal wedding this morning? IMG_0918I’ll admit that I’m typing this on Thursday night (I almost always do my posts the night before anyway, but this weekend is crazy-busy, so it’s a necessity), but my plans are to watch at the gym while on the treadmill/elliptical (from about 6 to 6:50) and then while eating breakfast, and DVR the rest to watch while recovering from my half marathon Sunday night. I’ll even confess that I sort of planned my workouts around the Royal Wedding (did the stair climber on Tuesday instead of Friday because at my gym, the climbers are not in front of the tvs).

This weekend, I’m headed for serious good times: girl bonding, LOTS of chocolate (and food in general), the half marathon and brunch after. Friday and Saturday is my church’s annual ladies’ retreat. We always have a chocolate fountain on Friday night, and everyone is to bring a “favourite snack” and we sort of have a junk food buffet (hello 80/20!). I was just going to bake something, but then I remembered hearing talk and seeing recipes on tv for IMG_0920Prince William’s “biscuit cake” to be served at the wedding. Apparently, it’s a childhood favourite of his, and he decided he wanted it for his “groom’s cake.” It is a bit decadent (just look at all that chocolate, and the cream and butter…I may be Hungry Healthy Hilary, but sometimes the hunger overtakes the health! Smile with tongue out), but a royal wedding is a once-in-a-lifetime event, right? And how could I go wrong with  a cake with this much chocolate in a room full of ladies? Funny side note: as I was making this cake, I was watching an episode of The Biggest Loser that I had DVR’ed….how ironic is that?

You can follow the link above for the exact recipe (from the Today show). Below I’ll type the recipe as I prepared it.

Chocolate Biscuit Cake

Adapted from the Today show

  • Nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 1 1/2 cups plus 6 tablespoons (4 sticks minus 2 tablespoons) unsalted butter
  • 30 ounces bittersweet chocolate (do not exceed 61% cacao), coarsely chopped (I used baker’s chocolate, 6 squares unsweetened, the rest semi-sweet)
  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 6 tablespoons Lyle’s Golden Syrup (this is a British thing, I couldn’t find it, so I used half honey, half dark corn syrup)
  • 2 7.5-ounce packages lightly toasted butter biscuits (the ones in the picture are what I found at the Superstore, I thought they seemed good, and British, since they were called biscuits, not cookies. The packages were slightly smalled than listed, so I added in 5 graham crackers too.), coarsely chopped

* If you follow the link to the original recipe, you’ll see there is a glaze recipe. Since I was cutting this into squares for a more casual gathering, I omitted the glaze. I also made it in a square, not a round pan, so it could be cut into squares more easily. If you’re serving this for a fancier dessert, check out the original recipe so you can add the glaze and make it round.

For the cake: Lightly coat a 9-inch square pan with nonstick spray. Line with waxed paper so it overhands on all sides, and spray the waxed paper with cooking spray. Stir butter and chocolate in a large saucepan over low heat until melted and smooth. Stir in cream and golden syrup (or whatever you’re using). Remove from heat; mix in chopped biscuit pieces to evenly incorporate. Pour chocolate mixture into prepared pan; smooth top. Cover and refrigerate until set, at least 3 hours or overnight.

Use waxed paper “handles” to lift cake out of the pan. Peel off the waxed paper and put on a cutting board. Use a large knife to cut into squares. Note: Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover and keep chilled.

IMG_0919

 

 

My big knife made quick work of the chocolate!

 

 

IMG_0921

 

Butter and chocolate melting over low heat in a large sauce pan (always use a silicone spatula, not a wooden spoon to stir melted chocolate. Water can get in the cracks in wooden spoons, and if it gets in your chocolate, it can seize and separate: NOT GOOD).

IMG_0922

 

While the chocolate was melting, I went for the good old “put the cookies into a ziploc bag, throw them on the floor/toss them around/crush the cookies with a jar/mush them up with your hands” approach to coarsely chop them (of course, I kept a close eye on the chocolate, stirring lots so it wouldn’t burn).

IMG_0923

 

 

Stirring in the cream, honey and corn syrup.

 

 

 

IMG_0924

 

 

Stirring the cookies into the chocolate-y goodness.

 

 

IMG_0925

 

 

The chocolate mixture poured into the prepared pan.

 

 

IMG_0931

 

The squares all ready to go after being chilled and cut.

 

 

 

Now, since I’m typing this on Thursday night, I *technically* haven’t had any of these yet. But you guys no me better than that. Some of the squares just didn’t look quite perfect, so I had to trim up some edges, and I couldn’t let those go to waste, could I? Winking smile So those edges I *didn’t* try were pretty tasty. I will update you and let you know how the other ladies liked them…and how I survived the chocolate fountain/junk food buffet…I’m eagerly anticipating it/dreading it at the same time(half marathon on Sunday, anyone?).  I just hope I can exercise some self control!

Do you have any “British” food favourites? Are you making/eating anything special for the Royal Wedding?

5 Responses to “Fit For a King”

  1. Mary-Ellen April 29, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Yeh Prince Willima’s fav cake! This man definitely has good taste in food!.
    I served it to clients this morning, complete with coffee form fine china cups….felt very regal.
    Thanks Hilary!
    ME

  2. Catherine M.A. April 30, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    You can get Lyle’s golden syrup at Denninger’s in Hamilton–let me know if you want me to pick you up a jar!

  3. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 30, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    You are so adorable! Planning workouts AROUND a royal wedding? GEEZ!

    Personally you couldn’t pay me to watch that stuff as I hate weddings and didn’t really want to be at my own 😉

    That cake looks decadent!

    Have a super awesome time at your retreat!

    I am not wishing you good luck on your half marathon…You won’t need it….ENJOY RUNNING TO THAT FINISH LINE BABE!

    • hungryhealthyhilary April 30, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Haha….thank you! The cake was a big hit, retreat was a blast (updates to come) and can’t wait to run!

Leave a Reply

