Sloppy, Smoky, Sweet, Satisfying

30 Apr

IMG_0927

Thursday was kind of a crazy day. Even though I only worked half a day, I felt like I was running around every minute of it. The day started with that crazy wind storm, I had to detour on the way to work because of a downed tree/power line. The school I was working at had no power. After school, I stopped at my grandparents’, then went to the market and got groceries, so didn’t get home until 2:45 and I hadn’t eaten lunch other than some grapes! I threw together a late lunch, made the biscuit cake, got packed up for the whole weekend – ladies’ retreat, and half marathon, made lunch for school the next day, and tried to figure out what I wanted for supper.

I knew I needed something healthy, since I was making the biscuit cake and had a few samples, plus with all the food-centered events this weekend, I wanted to get in lots of veggies in advance (good thing I’m running that half marathon tomorrow – between the chocolate fountain, biscuit cake and brunch, I need it)! I settled on a quick sloppy joe, squash fries with Cajun seasoning and garlic salt, veggies and an AMAZING BBQ ranch dip. Here’s how I did it.

IMG_0926

For the sloppy joe, I browned a bit of chopped onion in a small non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. I added about 1/2 cup soy crumbles, a few pieces chopped canned jalapenos (I like it spicy – omit these if you don’t), canned tomatoes, a small squirt each of light ketchup and BBQ sauce, salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder and brown sugar twin (in case you’re wondering why you often see me add this to BBQ/smoky flavoured things, it’s because I like my BBQ sweet, and the BBQ sauce I have isn’t very sweet at all). I reduced heat and let it cook for a few more minutes.

IMG_0928

I served the sloppy joe mixture on a thin bun – it was fast, but healthy and incredibly satisfying. You’ll get the how-to for the squash fries if you click on the link – I just used garlic salt and Cajun seasoning for my flavourings. I roasted the cauliflower at the same time as the fries – about 40 minutes at 425 with a tsp of olive oil, cumin and garlic salt – smoky and delicious! With roasted cauliflower, it’s not a beauty contest. You want it to look brown and sort of charred – that equals more delicious smoky flavour!

IMG_0929

My AMAZING Sweet Smoky BBQ Ranch dip? SO EASY! I just mixed a bit of fat-free sour cream, light BBQ sauce, brown sugar twin (the whole smoky/sweet thing again) and ranch dip mix…SO GOOD! I think I’m in love! I don’t know why I didn’t think of this sooner, but I know I will do it again! Open-mouthed smile

I just have to say it here now, loud and proud: I love cumin. I think I may have an obsession. There’s just something special about that delicious smokiness it adds to a dish, without any heat at all…you can’t beat it! Blogging really makes you look back over your meals, and I’m realizing that I really dig the sweet and smoky thing!

Wish me luck tomorrow on the run! Obviously I wrote this post in advance, but I don’t have one scheduled for tomorrow. I’m planning to come back and relax, and type a full race recap while watching the DVR’ed Royal Wedding, so look for a post Sunday night. Hopefully the run will be enough to burn off all the chocolate from Friday and tomorrow’s post-run brunch!

How did Thursday’s wacky weather affect you? Was your power out? Any trees down in your area?

One Response to “Sloppy, Smoky, Sweet, Satisfying”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way April 30, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Can’t wait to hear all about your run!

    I’m not the biggest fan of cumin but there is definitely a time and a place for it for sure!

Leave a Reply

