Election Night Eats

3 May

IMG_0964

I know that eating in front of the tv is not a great habit to get into. After living on my won for three years though, it’s something I do fairly often (less now that I am living at home). Growing up, we were almost never allowed to have the tv on during meals – the only exceptions I can think of are the Olympics and elections. My family are all political junkies. I even remember watching the 1996 Quebec referendum on tv at age 8…nerdy, I know, but what do you expect from a political science major? Since tonight is election night, my mom and I wanted a finger food supper we could eat in front of the tv. Now when you think of finger food, you may think of junk food, but it doesn’t have to be that way….observe the following three things I came up with for a creative (and delicious) plate of munchies.

IMG_0954

The first dish I came up with was an original – we’ll call it “crunchy Asian cups.” Remember those Hungry Girl egg rolls I made over a month ago? Well the egg roll wrappers were still languishing in the fridge! I used them as the cup part of this dish. I cut 2 wrappers into three irregular triangle-ish pieces (they may be sort of weird-shaped and funny looking, but so what? It’s my blog, and I’ll make my cups how I want to!), sprayed on both sides with cooking spray, and seasoned one side with garlic salt. I put them in muffin cups, flattened them down, and baked at 425 for 4 minutes (was doing to do 7, but they were done early…good thing I checked)!

IMG_0955

On to the filling. I chopped up some snow peas, celery, onion and garlic. I preheated a teaspoon of olive oil in a skillet, and added all of my chopped veggies and a handful of broccoli slaw mix. I sautéed for a few minutes over medium-high heat.

 

IMG_0956IMG_0957

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I added 1/2 cup of soy crumbles and 1/3 cup frozen, shelled edamame. I seasoned with chili garlic sauce, soy sauce and salt and pepper and cooked for a few minutes. I let the filling cool and then filled my 6 shells.IMG_0958

Next up on the appetizer roster: squash and beet fries! The procedure was basically the same as that for the usual HG squash fries, except I used a IMG_0963buttercup, not butternut squash and I added beets. I had some beets in the fridge that had been in there for a while, so I figured this would be a fun way to use them up, since I am a bit of a beet chip failure.

 

 

IMG_0959Last but not least, I made a tasty hot mushroom dip. I sautéed some finely chopped garlic and onion in one teaspoon of oil over medium-high heat for a few minutes, then added some finely chopped white mushrooms (while we’re on the mushroom front, I had to toss the last of the mushroom cream cheese yesterday…R.I.P.).

IMG_0960

I sautéed everything until it was starting to brown. Then I turned off the heat, seasoned with salt and pepper, and added a couple tablespoons each of the holy trinity of dips – fat free sour cream, fat free Miracle Whip and fat free cream cheese. I could have added other herbs/seasonings, but I really wanted to let the mushroom flavour shine. I served the dip warm with veggies and crackers.

IMG_0961

It all came together to make a satisfying and delicious plate of different tastes and textures…LOVED it! And tired as I was last night, it was perfect just to sit on the couch, watch tv and eat (and blog too Winking smile). I just love snack-y suppers.

Do you eat in front of the TV? Are you into watching election results, or could you care less? If you live in Canada, I hope you voted yesterday!

4 Responses to “Election Night Eats”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 3, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    good eats!! I have a mad craving for beets lately…I’m adding them to tomorrow’s grocery list…

    I am 100% NOT a political person…I don’t think I could care less about it actually…So I definitely did not tune in yesterday…

    We eat in front of the TV often…Mainly because our living room and kitchen are one big long open concept room…So even though I am sitting at the table right now I am also looking at the flat screen on our wall in the living room…It’s a grey area 😉

    • hungryhealthyhilary May 3, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      Ok…our house is open concept too, so I get it….I guess that makes it better?

  2. Natalie May 3, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    I love a plate with different flavors and textures…it’s so much more fun to eat 🙂

  3. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel May 4, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    I’m also bad and eat in front of the tv, sometimes we put a blanket on the floor in the living room and have a picnic 🙂
    Since i’m not an official canadian citizen i’m not allowed to vote so i really pay NO attention to it, bad blogger!
    Your eats look super tasty though

Leave a Reply

