Moms are amazing

8 May

IMG_0509

…especially mine. The older I get, the more I am overcome and overwhelmed with how much my mom has done for me, sacrificed for me, and given me so many opportunities. She has never wanted me to be anything more or less than what I am, and has been an amazing support through good times and bad. Happy mother’s day Mom …. and to all the mothers who may be reading this.Red heart

I have a longstanding tradition of making my mom breakfast in bed. But this IMG_1039year, my mom was spending mother’s day with her mom, so I made breakfast and brought it to her and my grandma. I opted to go with a Weight Watchers recipe for cinnamon raisin biscuits, as we’ve been to lots of food-centred events lately (and are leaving for Vegas in 5 days…eek!). The biscuits were loved by both mothers (and one father/grandfather who snuck some too). It’s nice to have a recipe that feels special but is still healthy, so these biscuits fit the bill. On the side, I made some maple butter (mixed maple syrup with softened butter) and fruit and yogurt parfaits, topped with the rest of the mango curd and some granola I found in my grandparents’ cupboard. Smile

IMG_1041

Here’s the recipe for the biscuits if you want to try them…each one has only 153 calories and 3.3 g fat…a bargain if you ask me!

Cinnamon-Raisin Biscuits

from Weight Watchers: Simple Goodness

2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 tbsp sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

3 tbsp cold butter, cut into small pieces

1/2 cup raisins

3/4 cup 1 % milk

1/2 cup icing sugar

1 tbsp 1 % milk

Preheat oven to 350. Combine first 5 ingredients in a bowl; cut in butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add raisins; toss well. Add 3/4 cup milk, stir just until dry ingredients are moist.

Turn dough onto a heavily floured surface; knead dough 4 or 5 times (note: in this recipe and most scone/biscuit recipes I make, I usually skip the kneading step, and just finish mixing it in the bowl using my hands and give a knead then, before turning it out on the counter). Roll dough to a 1/2 inch thickness; cut with a 2 1/2 inch biscuit cutter. Place on a baking sheet. Bake at 450 for 11 minutes or until golden.

Combine powdered sugar and 1 tablespoon of milk; stir well. Drizzle over the biscuits. Yield: 1 dozen.

So…wondering how all the catering craziness went? Update to come! Now, I leave you with some pictures of the spring beauty in our yard…just to prove I can take pictures of something other than food! I am blessed to be able to live in the house I grew up in, and always enjoy the beautiful flowering trees around Mother’s Day.

 

May 8 2011

One Response to “Moms are amazing”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 8, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Very sweet of you to bake for your mom and grandma! Can’t wait to see updates on the catering madness!

    5 days till vegas? Oh that is SO exciting!

Leave a Reply

