Such a Softie

12 May

You’ve read before on here about my love for banana soft serve. You’ve seen IMG_1067my mango variation (inspired by the wonderful Katie of RFKW, of course). But, if you know me, you’ll know that when I find a recipe I like, I am not content just to leave it alone. I like to play with things and switch it up a bit. While I still love the original banana, I wanted to go outside the basic box. Given the bountiful supply of strawberries in my freezer, I thought they would be the perfect fruit to try.

IMG_1066

I did the usual method: frozen banana (used half), chopped up, added about a cup of frozen strawberries, then splashed in some almond milk (I’ve made it twice, and the second time was with regular 1% milk…almond milk was used up and didn’t want to open a new container so soon before leaving). I processed until smooth, stirring and scraping a bit as I went, then put it in a pretty bowl with a frozen strawberry on top.

One procedural note: the strawberries freeze HARD! The first time I made this, there were several chunks of frozen, whole (or almost whole) strawberries. Not the end of the world, but not the most pleasurable thing in the midst of a bowl of frozen goodness. So the second time, I microwaved the berries for just 10 or 15 seconds. Not much at all, just enough so they weren’t rock-solid.

Strawberry banana is a classic combo, so it’s no surprise that this soft-serve was yummy! And I loved the pretty pink colour too (no surprise there either, I’m a bit of a pink fanatic). I think I like basic banana and ban-ango better, but I still really liked this…I made it twice in a week, so it can’t be bad, right? Winking smile

So, just in case you forgot, I’M LEAVING FOR LAS VEGAS TOMORROW (early, VERY early)!!!!! What does that mean to you HHH readers? I want to update you on all the delicious eats and cooking adventures (have I mentioned that I’m doing a cooking class inspired by the movie Julie and Julia?), but I don’t want to be chained to my computer every night. I’ve got a few posts scheduled, including one from a very special guest. So if you’re reading something that looks like the usual HHH, it’s probably one of my ahead-of-time posts. But I am bringing my laptop, so in between the advance-posts I’ve written, I will give you Vegas updates.

Although I’m SUPER-excited about this trip, I’m also a little nervous. I REALLY don’t want to gain too much weight, but I know there will be tons of amazing food. And I tend to be and “all-or-nothing” girl on vacation – once I start splurging, I go all the way. I know all the “right” things to do, but whether or not I actually do them is a whole other issue. I’m hoping to fit in lots of exercise whenever possible to offset some of those splurges. I’ve heard that you walk a lot in Vegas, and I certainly plan to. I’m also hoping to take stairs and not the elevator (this worked for me when I was on a cruise last year).

So, stick with me as I share my ups and downs, my meals, my splurges, my successes and failures….it should be fun! And as Elvis would say: “Viva Las Vegas!”

Got any good tips for eating healthy/preventing weight gain on vacation? Share ‘em please!

3 Responses to “Such a Softie”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 13, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    I’ll be thinking about you today babe!! I am super excited for you!!

    As for gaining too much weight, what happens in vegas won’t stay in vegas when it comes to that 😉 But try a little of everything! Listen to your body, stop when it’s telling you it’s full and don’t just stick to the “healthy” stuff! Vacation is all about indulging just try not to OVER indulge!

    Safe travels my friend!!!

  2. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel May 13, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Have fun!!!!! I’m serious about all the walking, you are going to have a blast
    Can’t wait to hear how much fun you are having 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You’ve been (soft) served! « hungryhealthyhilary - June 3, 2011

    […] Or there’s always strawberry banana soft serve […]

Leave a Reply

