The Wynn Workout

15 May

We woke up early yesterday. As in, before 6 AM early (blame it on the time change). IMG_1114We spent some time in our room, but wanted to have some food in our tummies (and my mom wanted coffee). so we got a fresh fruit and yogurt platter (and coffee for her) from room service. I’m not even going to tell you how much it cost, because it was ridiculous. Let’s just say it made Pearson International Airport’s $4.99 fruit salad look like a bargain.

Now onto the workout. I was stoked to see the amazing-looking gym at our hotel. Less stoked to find out that it costs $15 per person, per day to use! Sad smile Wicked bummer! So it was either skip the workouts, or pay through the nose to stay in shape. The pool, while amazing, does not open until 8 AM. And on our first day here, my mom and I attempted to take the stairs….also a fail. They are CLEARLY not meant for anything other than a fire escape, as our wild goose chase to a sketchy exit door we had no idea where it went so we turned around and climbed up back to our floor escapade proved (I found the whole incident kinda funny…my mom, not so much). So, I was feeling a little bummed on the exercise front.

IMG_1116

BUT, thanks to my memory (of personal training/other exercises I’ve done, my ifitness app on my ipod touch and a little ingenuity, I came up with a pretty AWESOME workout. I wanted to share it with you, because you could easily do it anywhere you have stairs and no access to fitness equipment. It’s great for at a hotel, but it would also work well at home too, for those of you who like to work out but can’t make it away from home. Start to finish, it took me about 50 or 55 minutes, but, you easily increase or decrease that time by adjusting the amount of cardio you do. Most of the exercises came from past personal training sessions/SHAPE magazine workouts, and a couple from the app.

IMG_1117

So for the stairs, I just went to the previously mentioned sketchy staircase (which conveniently, is next door to our room) and ran up and down one floor. It sounds incredibly boring, but with my music, it went by surprisingly quickly. I’m not gonna lie, my pace slowed down a bit on each set, but I managed to keep up fairly well. I did 2 sets of each exercise listed, and between 1o to 20 reps of each, depending on the exercise (after the running crunches, I held for almost a minute, I held the wall sit for 1 minute and the side planks for 45 seconds on each side). If you want more specific instructions for any of the exercises, just ask!

I was a sweaty mess by the end (just ask my mom!) so a dip in the pool felt GREAT! I did lengths for about 1/2 and hour (alternating between breast stroke and front crawl). I love to swim, and since I graduated and no longer have free pool access, I don’t get to do it very often. You may be thinking that’s a pretty big workout. Well, yes, but….

Then we went to THE BEST BRUNCH I’VE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE! Seriously, it was UN-BE-LIEVABLE!

May 14 2011 H

You know how usually you go to a buffet, and the food is good, but it’s not really superior quality, and some or all of it is just so-so? Not at the Wynn! Yes, we paid dearly for it, but it was SO worth it….and we got our money’s worth, let me tell you! And, I will sheepishly admit that all of that food is mine! Embarrassed smileBUT, I focused on things that I couldn’t get elsewhere, and, other than dessert, I left something on my plate from each course. It was all good, but the highlights were: corn succotash, homemade granola (but I’m sure it’s not as good as yours Katie), pulled pork and coleslaw on corn bread, Mexican chilaquiles frittata, thick-cut slab bacon with lots of pepper (seriously, all other bacon will never be the same again), fresh salsas and naan bread, and the AMAZING bread pudding and apple cobbler! Mmmmmm!

Since it was our first full day of vacation, we opted for the $10 extra “champagne” option, which includes unlimited mimosas (champagne and orange juice), champagne or bloody marys. I went for the mimosas – whew, I am such a lightweight! I was definitely feeling the buzz….or something. I said after the fact that if I was doing it over again I would skip the Mimosa, as it didn’t really do that much for me…oh well, live and learn.

We really didn’t eat again until later on, and then it was just a slice of pizza before our show and Ben and Jerry’s after (and I even got fro yo)!

This place is like nothing else….seriously! I’ll leave you with a few more shots.

IMG_1096

IMG_1143

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I still plan on trying out the gym though, by the way. What do you do when you can’t do a workout as you’ve planned? What’s the most creative workout you’ve come up with?

6 Responses to “The Wynn Workout”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 15, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Great job on mcgivering up a workout!! I used to get really panicky when I couldn’t get my workout in…Now I just commit to going for a run later or pop in the dvd after work…

    Any brunch with sushi is A-OK with me! I would have dedicated a whole plate to it 😉

    I’m glad you are having a great time beauty!

  2. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel May 15, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Eeeeeee, love vegas and LOVE you are having so much fun
    Buffets are my friend and enemy you did awesome though and way to come up with your own work out, you are a rock star!
    Can’t wait to see some more pics 🙂

  3. Drew Trembly July 11, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Working out on vacation is hard to do. Great job!

    • hungryhealthyhilary July 11, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      Thank you! It was actually kind of rewarding to challenge myself, create and complete this workout.

      • Drew Trembly July 13, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

        Thats GREAT! The food looks great too. I will have to add that to my Shakeology meal plan

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life is funny… « hungryhealthyhilary - August 5, 2011

    […] The Wynn Workout This is when I was on vacation and made the best of a bad situation and created my own KILLER workout consisting of running hotel stairs, body weight resistance exercises and swimming. I felt pretty hard core, and was proud of myself for McGuiver-ing up a workout. I am also proud of this post, because it showed me working up a sweat AND indulging in a major way on vacation – pretty much my constant battle (minus the vacation part). […]

Leave a Reply

