Guest Post: Katie’s Healthy Tips

16 May

I thought it would be fun while I’m away to ask my blog BFF, Katie, to write a guest post for you all (one less day for me to worry about while I’m partying it up in Vegas Winking smile). Luckily for me (and you), she agreed. I love Katie’s great sense of humour, and following her tasty and healthy adventures over at her blog, RFKW. She’s also super-ambitious, and currently enrolled in a nutrition course, meaning she has even MORE expertise to share with us. Today, she shares a few of her favourite tips for a healthy lifestyle. Take it away, Katie!

Hello fellow Hungry Healthy Hilary followers!

My name is Katie and I have a blog called Real Food Katie’s Way. My blog buddy Hilary asked me to stop by and share a little something with you while she is away enjoying herself in Viva Las Vegas!! Thanks for having me Hilary!

Just to give you a little background about myself, I have been overweight, unhealthy and uneducated about health and nutrition pretty much my entire life. In 2007 I hit my rock bottom moment (you can read about that on my ABOUT page) and decided I was going to change my life. It’s been a long, colourful and sometimes frustrating road but I’ve lost 135 pounds and I truly enjoy finding fresh and new ways to maintain a balanced and healthy lifestyle.

I thought I would share with you just a few basic tips and tricks that reinforce my commitment to living a healthy lifestyle each and every day.

Drink Lots of Water!glass of water

Water is a required part of our diet.

According to Judith E Brown’s Nutrition Now some of the functions of water include maintenance of body hydration and temperature, facilitation of digestion, removal of bodily waste and participation in energy formation.

We need to ensure we are drinking enough water DAILY to replace the water that we lose through urine, perspiration, exhaled air, etc.

It also helps to be a lover of all things fruit and vegetable because most fruits and vegetables (for example tomatoes, celery and watermelon) are 75-90% water! What’s cuter than that? 😉

One last tip regarding water! A lot of times your body will be asking for liquids but the message will come across as hunger. If you guzzle some water you may find that the “faux hunger” will magically disappear!

Eat Your Fruits, Veggies and Whole Grains!

healthy-eating-300x257It’s been proven that people who eat lots of fruits, vegetables and whole grains are less likely to develop cancer, heart disease, type 2 diabetes, infections, premature aging, and the list goes on and on and on!

Fruits and veggies are nutrient dense which essentially means they have a high nutrient content and relatively low calorie content. So you can eat your fill and know that you gave your body some much needed nutrients without consuming excessive amounts of calories!

Finally, whole grains contain vitamins, minerals, unsaturated fatty acids, fiber and phytochemicals that play a role in the prevention of many types of cancers.

You may even find that you feel fuller for longer when eating whole grains because there is more substance to them. This is because the “good stuff” (for example bran and germ) hasn’t been removed from whole grain foods like they have from the refined grain foods!

Get Active!

leslie sansoneFact: When I first started out on my weight loss journey, I could not walk up 3 flights of stairs.

I slowly began exercising via home workout DVDs (Leslie Sansone’s Walk At Home program) and week by week I began noticing changes in my fitness. Granted they were very small changes but that’s the way it should be in my opinion.

I STILL workout to a wide variety of Leslie Sansone’s at home DVDs and would recommend them to anyone and everyone! They are easy to follow, low impact and you can do any modifications you feel are necessary for you.

Eating a balanced, healthy diet is only one piece of healthy lifestyle puzzle in my opinion. We were not meant to be sedentary creatures so day by day, try to implement some form of physical activity that gets your heart rate up! I promise you will FEEL better when you do!

Be Prepared!

No matter how busy you are in your life, I guarantee you have the ability to live trail mixa healthy lifestyle. That being said, you MUST make a commitment to put the time and effort in that is necessary.

It has been my experience that unhealthy choices are made when I don’t have meals planned and healthy snacks readily available. That is why I commit my Sundays to planning meals for the week, washing and prepping veggies for snacks and lunches and baking homemade healthy muffins for breakfasts, snacks and desserts. Obviously you don’t have to spend an entire day on this like I do but if you find you have a spare hour here or there, pull out the carrots and turn them into cute baggies of smart snacking!

One final tip on being prepared! When you know you are going to be away from the house for a longer period of time running errands, bring a bottle of water and some healthy snacks such as trail mix or a baggie of veggies, almonds, dates, etc. When you are prepared, you will be far less likely to stop off at the Starbucks to pick up a cookie that’s so big it needs its own postal code 😉

I will never tell anyone that living a healthy lifestyle is convenient and easy because it’s not. It takes time, energy and planning to truly see the benefits but as soon as you start seeing the fruits of your labour you will find that your attitude may change and things may seem easier than they were when you first started out.

Thanks again Hilary, say hello to Elvis for me!

Leave a Reply

