Favourite Things: Online HG Recipes

19 May

I was scrolling through pictures on my computer, looking for un-posted ones that I could write into a post for this week. I found a couple of photos from my recent catering extravaganza of a favourite Hungry Girl recipe of mine. Then I thought, why not make a post dedicated to my favourites? I was just going to make it a regular post, but then I thought another favourite things post would be fun for while I’m away. So without further ado, I give you some of my favourite online HG recipes (some of her recipes are cookbook exclusives, for this post, I’m just using the ones online, and I’m just giving you the links, rather than typing out all the recipes here).

IMG_0991

IMG_0992

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hungry, Hungry Artichoke Hummus This is the recipe in the pictures above, the one that inspired this post. Obviously, you know it’s a good recipe if it’s a healthy one that’s good enough to use for catering! And I’ve already told you how I love artichokes. Just a heads-up on one ingredient: the fat-free Greek yogurt can be swapped for regular plain yogurt or sour cream. This recipe originally comes from the 200 under 200 cookbook, and once I made it – I fell in love! Luckily for you, it’s available online. Winking smile

Fettuccini Girl-Fredo I consider this one of HG’s greatest hits. I hardly ever eat it as is though. I like to top it off with grilled or roasted veggies, some cheese, and maybe a homemade tomato sauce. It’s totally worth seeking out tofu shirataki noodles to make this. Another note: I always use the whole wedge of Laughing Cow even though the recipe only calls for half – FYI: Canadian Laughing Cow is lower in calories and fat than American – great, eh? ‘Winking smile 

HG’s Fiber-ific Chicken Parm It’s chicken parm, without the harm! Cheesy, braded foods are NOT off-limits. Try this, you’ll love it! And pair it with the above recipe and a salad, and you’ve got an Italian feast fit for a queen.

HG’s Top Banana Bread Who doesn’t love banana bread? Even my brother-in-law, who doesn’t like bananas, likes banana bread. The only thing better than banana bread (which, although it’s made with fruit, is also usually high in fat and sugar) is guilt-free banana bread. This recipe makes 8 HUGE delicious, slices!

HG’s Bake-tastic Butternut Squash Fries I love squash. I love fries. When they unite, it is SO good! I like seasoning mine with garlic salt and cumin, maybe a few other Epicure seasonings, and whipping up some sort of dip on the side (of course, ketchup always works).

HG’s Lord of the Onion Rings It’s been a while since I made these things, but it’s not because they’re not delicious. It does take a bit of time to grind up the cereal, slice up the onions, then dip them in the egg substitute and cereal, but it’s well worth it. Try adding different spices to the breadcrumbs for your own delicious variations.

HG’s Raspberry Mocha Madness Swappucino I LOVE this drink…make it so much. Although sugar-free raspberry syrup is hard to find (you can order online here, but I’ve found mine several times at Home Sense/Winners….random, eh?), it’s worth seeking out for this drink. I have the recipe in an HG cookbook, the only difference to the online version is that you can use any type of milk you want – I usually go for skim.

HG’s Sweet ‘n Salty Caramel Cocoa You have to go to Buffalo (or another US city) to get most of the ingredients for this drink, but it’s well worth it. If you’re a sweet and salty fan like me, you’ll love this great drink.

HG’s Swirls Gone Wild and Nutty-good PB Brownies  I just made the peanut butter variation a couple weeks back. You heard how good they are. And as I said before, the cheesecake version is basically the same recipe, only with a cheesecake swirl instead of a peanut butter one. Both are delicious and guilt-free. Try one recipe, or try both and pick your favourite!

I could go on and on, but I think I’ll stop here. There are SO MANY more HG recipes that I love, these are just some of my favourites. Are there any you think I’ve missed? Do you have a favourite HG (or other online) recipe?

Leave a Reply

