Burger craving…squashed!

21 May

IMG_1082

I’m sayin’ it loud and I’m sayin’ it proud – I love burgers! One of the best parts of summer, if you ask me. Smile So, a couple of nights before we left for Vegas, when the weather was warm, and the grill was calling, burgers were the obvious choice. As much as I LOVE portobello burgers, sometimes, you just can’t beat beef. My go-to burger right now is made by PC Blue Menu (surprise, surprise). I wanted to link to the specific product, but couldn’t find it on the website, so hopefully that doesn’t mean they’re discontinued. They’re only about 140 or 150 calories and I think they’re called portion wise. The burger was on a thin bun with ketchup and mustard (never relish for me), sliced onions and pickles (I only discovered how delicious pickles are on sandwiches/burgers within the last couple of years….I can’t believe I missed out for so long, so I’m making up for lost time). There would have been tomato slices too, but at that point, the produce section of the fridge was depleted due to our impending departure.IMG_1081

What were my side dishes? One was a little quirky, the other a little more normal. The quirky dish was a slaw-type salad made with butternut squash and cauliflower (project: use-up-produce-in the fridge however you can continues). I peeled and cubed about 2 cups of butternut squash, and cooked in the microwave for about 6 minutes. To the squash, I added chopped cauliflower; one Empire apple, grated on a box grater and a couple of chopped green onions. My dressing was fat-free Miracle Whip, Dijon mustard, white wine vinegar, brown sugar twin, just a touch of curry powder, some cinnamon, cumin and salt and pepper. I mixed it all together and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours so the flavours could blend.

My more “normal” side dish was roasted asparagus and broccoli. I tossed some chopped spears and florets with 2 tsp olive oil, fresh ground salt and pepper. I roasted at 450 for about 1/2 an hour, then right at the end, I drizzled with balsamic vinegar and popped the veggies back in the oven for a few minutes.

I sure hope there’s still asparagus at home when I get back….LOVE the stuff! What are your favourite ways to prepare/cook asparagus? And/or, what’s the quirkiest thing you’ve ever come up with to use up food in your fridge?

5 Responses to “Burger craving…squashed!”

  1. italiandreamer May 21, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    my favourite is asparagus risotto, if you want you can find the recipe on my blog
    Sorry but I’m not so able in blogging, write and publish the recipe has taken me about to days….
    I cannot immagine to copy and paste it here…..

  2. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel May 22, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    Mmmm burgers!
    I went to a bbq tonight at a friends house and they made us turkey bacon wrapped asparagus, yummm 🙂
    Hope Grand Canyon is awesome!!!!

    • hungryhealthyhilary May 22, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      Grand Canyon IS awesome indeed….great views, and I ate a bison steak! 🙂

  3. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 22, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    I love pickled asparagus…Truthfully I don’t eat a lot of asparagus but it’s usually pickled when I do…

    Sometimes you just can’t replace a beef burger!!

    We have a new BBQ that we need to pick up from my folks place so I am ITCHING to BBQ…It’s worse knowing I actually cannot right now…

    • hungryhealthyhilary May 22, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      I will look forward to your BBQ adventures on RFKW…and expect to see more of the grill on HHH once I return home!

Leave a Reply

