Home safely

25 May

Home sweet home! We arrived home safely in Toronto last night, and after my sister picked us up and we had a late dinner together, we finally got home to our house shortly before midnight. Since I am typing this late Tuesday night (technically Wednesday morning), I’m going to keep this short (that and the fact that I don’t want to blabber on in my tired condition).

I seriously enjoyed myself every minute this vacation….maybe a little too much at times. I’m feeling a little “rounder” (in spots that I would not like) right now. BUT, my mom says I am not allowed to complain about the weight I have gained on this trip, so I guess I can’t go that route! Smile with tongue out

IMG_1546

I had a “last supper” of vacation before getting back on track with my mom and sister. We shared chicken wings, pizza and a salad. Not healthy really by any standards, but it was tasty. I’m ashamed to say I ate half of that pizza, 2 chicken wings, and some salad. The thing that scared me is that while I was eating it, I was having feelings of the “old Hilary” – eating things, enjoying the taste, eating more unhealthy food, but at the same time not wanting to eat it, and feeling powerless to stop, just eating it because it was there. I know I can’t (and don’t want) to go back to that person, so maybe those feelings were a good reality check after a week and a half of less-than-healthy choices.

So today I’m starting fresh. Number one on that game plan is a LONG run, followed by a healthy breakfast (whatever I can scrounge up without groceries first). After work today, grocery trip with LOTS of fresh veggies (and local asparagus…yay)! And I CAN’T WAIT to get back in my kitchen creating healthy, delicious food for myself.

I will keep you posted on my progress….wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Home safely”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 25, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Hey babe! I’m glad you made it home!

    Good job for recognizing your old ways…I totally understand that…There are times that I recognize fat katie’s thoughts too BUT we have such a strong resolve to live a healthy lifestyle that we will likely never go back…Recognizing that those thoughts exist in you is a good “compass” if you will…You’ve seen the “food light” Hilary so living in the “food darkness” would just not suffice for you anymore…

    PS coming off of a vacation where you indulged will always give you these thoughts…Give it a few days and you are going to be same old same old Hilary!

    • hungryhealthyhilary May 25, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      Thank you….I am so blessed to have blog BFF like you to talk some sense into me!

Leave a Reply

